First Outdoor Run of the Season… Check!

Well, maybe I should start at the beginning of when I took a blogging break?  So much has happened over the past few days.  I planned an Easter menu.  Bought some curtains for the dining room (still have to put them up to make sure that they actually make sense).  Went to my cousin’s wedding.  Spent all day Sunday with the hubby.  Ordered bridal shower invitations.  Started planning the bachelorette party.  Picked up the house and then watched it get messy again… 😉

Oh, yeah, and went for my first outdoor run since last fall.

Now running around my town is a lot different than running on a treadmill.  (At least for me… I never add incline to my indoor run).  Around my house, however, there are these ‘wonderful’, unavoidable obstacles called hills.  They’re great for building leg muscles and really get the heart pumping.  But positive thinking aside, I despise them.  The first hill isn’t steep, but it’s long and steady.  Since this is on a main road leading to the town center, I’m pretty good at keeping up the pace, if not for endurance than at least for pride’s sake.  But the second hill, which is about halfway through our run, is a long, steep hill that runs behind the town common.  So no one can see me.  So I can bring it down to a crawl and can let all the misery and pain show on my face.

My secret is to lie to myself and to continually chant, “Just one more step.  Just one more step,” all the while pretending that Jillian Michael’s is chasing after me with a baseball bat. 

This time, there was an extra incentive.  An older woman was walking up the hill, and she started cheering as Nate and I jogged past. 

“You can do it!” she shouted.

Really, after that kind of support, how could I quit? 

But as painful as it may be to run up this hill, there is a dose of good old-fashioned accomplishment at the end.  Love the feeling I get once I reach the top.  It’s as though I can do anything.  Suddenly, I’m Wonderwoman (without the odd costume and tights).  And thank goodness, after that hill, it’s all downhill from there, so I pretty much let gravity take over and just fall my way home.  Something like that anyway…  It’d be much easier if I had a wagon to jump onto, but that is still in the works.  😉

Anyway, I made the full three-mile run, even if some moments were harder than they used to be.  And the best thing is that there was no knee pain.  Last year, I couldn’t even run a mile without my old knee injury flaring up.  So maybe I’m officially on the road to recovery.  You know what they say…. Slow and steady wins the race. Sometimes, you really do just have to take it a step at a time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Outdoor Run of the Season… Check!

  1. Where I live it’s flat forever. Not a single hill in sight.
    When I used to live in Toronto it was a bit hillier and there was one insane hill that killed me every time. I remember one man saying to me “Looking good, keep it up!” as I was running up the hill and it was such a huge motivation. Seriously, after that you can’t just dust off your hands and say “No, not really. I think I’ll walk now.” No way. You have to keep going.

  2. Great job on the run! Before long, 3 miles will be a thing of the past and you will be running 5, 6, or 7 miles!!

  3. Congrats on your first Spring run!

  4. jelillie says:

    Seriously, I would have had someone meet me with a car for a ride back up the hill! Good going!

  5. allieksmith says:

    This post was so awesome! LOVE the picture of you and Nate 🙂
    “My secret is to lie to myself and to continually chant, “Just one more step. Just one more step,” all the while pretending that Jillian Michael’s is chasing after me with a baseball bat.”
    ^^^ made me laugh out loud. Really hard.
    🙂

  6. Great job, girl! I love the picture of you and Nate…you are positively glowing!

    I love your imagery of Jillian Michaels chasing you with a baseball bat…haha. I could not stop laughing. That would get *anyone* running up the steepest of hills. :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

