Wedding # 1: AJ and Stacy

They say it’s good luck to have rain on your wedding day…  To wear something borrowed…. Something blue…

I’m not sure where these rituals first began or if there really is anything to them…  I do know that raindrops transform into sparkly crystals when they fall from the sky and catch the light of a brightly lit inn.  It’s beautiful.  And rain aside, my cousin AJ and his new wife Stacey are destined for a beautiful life together.  Just look at how happy they are!  🙂  They were married Saturday night, surrounded by family and friends.  There was plenty of hugging.  Dancing.  And promises to love forever.

Family.  We’ve multiplied over the years, and it’s more difficult to get everyone together now.  But weddings… Weddings bring all of us together.  Whether we’re there in person or there in spirit, we send out a smile.  A hug.  An ‘I love you.’

Cousins.  I have a lot of them.  And now there are second cousins.  And cousin-in-laws.  😉  And of course uncles and aunts.  My family is huge, stretching from New England all the way to Florida.  (Hi, Jill!).  And we don’t hardly see each other enough.  But when one of us gets married, it doesn’t matter how long it’s been since we’ve got together.  Suddenly, we’re laughing and dancing.  Toasting.  Catching up on old memories. Taking pictures of absolutely everything and everyone.  🙂 

Photography.  It’s a family thing.  And with it comes people watching.  I love watching the bride and groom twirl on the dance floor, their faces beaming with happiness.  The grandparents shuffling up to the dance floor just in time for their song.  The faces of guests lighting up as the cake is served.  Uncles busting out their favorite dance moves.  Bridesmaids giggling together in a corner.

I’ve been to many weddings, and each one is different.  Unique.  But each wedding is also romantic.  Sparkly.  Beautiful.  Perfect. 

Yes, they say it’s good luck to have rain on your wedding day…  To wear something borrowed…. Something blue…

But when you’ve found THE one that you want to spend the rest of your life with, do you really need luck?  And when you have such a family to back you up, don’t you already have all that you need to make your dreams come true? 

I sure think so.

*****

The Specifics:  (because I know you girls want them)  🙂

The cake

It was chocolate with buttercream, served with an icecream truffle.  So cute. So delicious!

The menu

Dinner started with a green salad that included roasted tomatoes and fresh mozzarella.  Then dijon chicken for me and prime rib for the hubby.  I think the garlic whipped potatoes and brown sugar baby carrots were my favorite though. I’m really into side dishes, as opposed to meat.  But everything was absolutely delicious!  🙂

 

Favors

AJ and Stacey had their first date in a Starbucks, so they gave out Starbucks Via for their wedding favors.  Definitely an original idea and everyone loved it!

 

The Centerpiece

Roses!  … because sometimes you can’t beat the delicate beauty of a flower.

My Wedding # 1 outfit

A high-waisted dress with a satiny blue top and black ‘skirt’.  Oh, yeah, and that’s totally a Shirley Temple in my hands… extra cherries, of course, since I believe in living life to the fullest.  🙂

 

One wedding down, two to go.  Oh, how I LOVE weddings!!!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wedding # 1: AJ and Stacy

  1. Tien says:

    Beautiful, beautiful wedding and wow the cake is gorgeous! What a coincidence Nicole, I’ve just blogged about the civil union of my flatmates which took place last Saturday too 🙂

  2. vixter2010 says:

    Lovely wedding – everyone looks so happy and the cake is really cute!

  3. allieksmith says:

    I love the favors! I never heard that if it rains on your wedding day that its good, how interesting! The cake is awesome!! You look so nice too 🙂 Cheers to your cousin and his new wifey!

  4. Such a fun wedding!! And I love what you had to say about the “extra luck.” You are so right. 😀

    You are gorgeous! 😀

  5. I love the idea of their favours because it’s So personal to their love story.

  6. Carin says:

    buttercream is my absolute favorite. with an ice cream TRUFFLE? yes please. deifnitely a pass on being vegan that day 🙂

    i love going to weddings. so much fun.

  7. Aww, your cousin and his wife look brilliantly happy together! Congrats to them! I love their cake and her dress and their favors! And I especially love that your family gets together for big events! My family is like that, but Christopher’s isn’t. I met his dad’s sisters for the first time after we’d been together 6 years!

  8. Megan says:

    Her dress is beautiful!!!! And MMMMMmmmm…Shirley Temples with extra cherries are the ONLY way to go 🙂 Looks like a wonderful wedding! And your dress is adorable!

  9. sarahnsh says:

    Looks like a gorgeous wedding, and a wonderful time too! The cake especially looks super tasty, and the truffle ice cream sounds delicious.

  10. justmarriedgirl says:

    It looks like it really was the perfect day. Happy to hear it was such a great time!

Leave a Reply

