Easter dinner prep

So two more days until I host my first holiday dinner. Eek!!

Actually, I’m totally excited. Not even nervous, really.  And I think this is what scares me the most.  Seriously, what am I forgetting to panic about?

The menu came down to two meat entrees — a ham baked in the oven and a large turkey breast, smothered in herbs and then slow-cooked in the crockpot.  For starters, we can all enjoy Mom’s homemade rolls and a steaming bowl of Giada’s Creamy Rosemary and Sweet Potato Soup.  Then, there will be lots of sides, of course.  Green beans, cinnamon carrots, broccoli casserole, a sautéed squash medley, and mashed potatoes with garlic.  

For dessert, there will be fresh fruit, a dessert my sister is bringing, and a homemade lemon coconut cake. Oh, right.  That’s what I’m slightly worried about.  The cake.  Yep, I knew there was something.  😉  I just can’t remember the last time I made a cake from scratch… and frosting from scratch… and lemon-custard filling from scratch.  In fact, I’ve made only several cakes in my 27 years.  So this could be interesting.  But mostly, I hope  it will be delicious… and pretty even.  (Although I’d settle for delicious). 

The hubby has been helping me clean the house, and now — after a quick vacuuming and dusting job — I’ll only need to add a bit of Easter decor.  So tomorrow, I can focus on prepping the food and making sure that I’m organized.  I also have to make dinner for Pepere tomorrow night, so — yes — it will be a busy one.  But fun too.

The way I see it, I can either stress out about this or  I can enjoy it.  And I plan on enjoying it.  After all, Easter dinner will be for family.  And family has to love you, whether your lemon cake came out good or not.  🙂

Oh, and on a side note, the hubby put up our new curtains. What do you think? (Yeah, you’re right, they need to be ironed. And adjusted a bit so that they’re even.  I’m so all over that!).  Nate and I are still pondering as to whether we like them or not, but I think I do like the splash of color they add.  I’m trying to be very adult about this, so I’m frequently standing in front of them, studying them carefully while tilting my head to one side… and then to the next.  I saw my parents do this all the time while I was growing up and it always seemed to work for them!  🙂

Happy Friday!!  Any fun weekend plans?  I’m heading to another cancer fundraiser tonight and then will be busy cooking and entertaining for the rest of the Easter weekend.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Easter dinner prep

  1. “I saw my parents do this all the time while I was growing up and it always seemed to work for them!” That cracked me up. I will have to try tilting my head side to siden when i am pondering something. If anything, I will look very inquisitive!

    Have a splendid Easter Holliday and good luck with your wonderful dinner spread!

  2. sarahnsh says:

    Enjoy Easter and don’t fret too much about the cake, I’m sure it will come out great, and even if not, you’ll have everyone stuffed on all the other yummy food you will be serving. And definitely tilting your head makes you feel like your getting a better look at something too.

  3. I’m also hosting my first Easter dinner! Also doing two entrees and mashed potatoes. 🙂 And making carrot cake for the first time. I’m nervous about hosting but excited to eat all the yummy food I have planned.

    Love the curtains! I like the airiness of them–your dining room looks so open and welcoming.

  4. Meg says:

    Ohhh, lemon and coconut, my two favorite things! Good luck with your cake making. I like the curtians! (Truthfully, I can’t tell they need ironing) Your kitchen is gorgeous. 🙂

  5. allieksmith says:

    Aww, you get to host!! How very exciting 🙂 You are going to do great!!!

  6. justmarriedgirl says:

    Wow! What a great menu. Everything will come out just perfect, including the cake!!

    The curtains look good. I always love what they add to a room.

    Have a happy Easter!

  7. Jeannine Como says:

    There will be 17 of us for Easter dinner. We will have kielbasa, deviled eggs, and stuffed celery for hors d’ouvres. The main course will consist of spiral honey ham with glaze, scalloped potatoes, carrot/apple casserole, corn, butternut squash, and onions. There will also be dinner rolls. Dessert will consist of a couple of homemade pies, brownies, and peanut butter candies dipped in chocolate. But it’s really all about family, and thanking God for all that He has given us! Have a wonderful, loving day.

  8. I love Easter. It’s much the same as Thanksgiving, with the sense that it’s all about family and just enjoying each others company. It’s simple. I love that. 😀

    The curtains are adorable! Can’t wait to see them in person. 😀

  9. Megan says:

    I hope your first ever holiday “hosting” goes well Nicole! I am positive it will 🙂 Happy Easter my friend!

Leave a Reply

