Easter Prep

Hi Everyone!!  🙂

So, I hosted my first holiday ever, and it came out so well!  Perfect, even!  I can’t wait to tell you all about it!!  But first, before I post my pics of the end product, let me be honest with you all.  Because honesty is my policy…

Hosting a holiday dinner is a lot of work.

It’s worth it.  And if you hang on and give it your best shot, your hard work will have beautiful results.  But sometimes, things don’t go the way you planned and so you have to adjust a little.  Be flexible.  And have lots of patience.

1.  As you all know, I was worried about baking a cake from scratch.  It turns out that it wasn’t the cake that caused the issue.  It was the lemon curd filling.  Apparently, everyone on the face of the planet, other than myself, knows that lemon curd needs egg yolk to thicken.  But because I was not aware of this, I followed my recipe and never once considered that there was a misprint.  The lack of egg yolk resulted in a very soupy curd which ran off my cake and settled into a yellow pool around it.  This happened late Saturday afternoon, just as I was supposed to make a meatloaf to bring to my Pepere’s house for dinner.  So I did what any mature cook would have done.  I stomped my foot several times as hard as I could.  (Little kids are onto something, you know.   Stomping one’s foot like that does wonders for releasing pent-up frustration).

But since I was left with a soupy cake, I had no choice but to make one again.  This one came out perfect.  Problem solved. Case closed.  Who cares if I didn’t finish it until nearly midnight the night before Easter? 

2.  Napkins.  I’ve always felt that linen napkins add such an air of elegance to a dinner, and since I had purchased a green table-cloth, it was only fitting that I buy the off-white napkins to go with it.  When I set the table the night before, I lined up the napkins carefully against the green backdrop, and Nate said it looked great.  But great wasn’t what I was looking for.  I wanted pizzaz.  Perfection.  Over-the-top-cuteness.  So I decided to fold napkins to look like bunnies.

It’s actually quite easy once you get the hang of it.  Learning how to do it though?  Well, just make sure that you’re researching on a heavy computer that you can’t throw out the window.

3.  By early Easter afternoon, however, everything was simmering, or organized, or decorated.  And I stood back… took everything in… and then jumped up and down a few times in excitement.  (I wonder if Martha Stewart ever does that?).  And then the phone rang… It was Nate.  Because so many guys had called out sick, he had to cover for them and wouldn’t be home until 11 pm that night.  So my hubby wasn’t going to make it to Easter dinner. 

I was in shock for a few minutes.  Then let myself cry.  Then decided to make lemonade with these lemons and to still let this be the best Easter ever!

And you know what, it did still turn out great…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Easter Prep

  1. allieksmith says:

    Awww, this post is so cute! Foot stomping DOES do wonders!! I agree! LOL. I totally would have ate soup lemon curd icing 😉

  2. Saw the pictures on Sarah’s blog. You did an amazing job!

  3. livvy30 says:

    I saw the pics too-well done! Looked yummy 🙂

  4. Vixter2010 says:

    Glad it all went well! Hard work but worth it in the end 🙂

  5. gina says:

    Congratulations! Can’t wait to see the pictures and to hear more about your success. Good for you for making another cake after the first one didn’t turn out the way you liked. I would have done the same!!!

  6. jelillie says:

    Stomping your left foot works particualrly well as everyone knows that is where your sarcasm bone resides! 🙂

  7. Tien says:

    Glad to hear it went smoothly! I stomp my feet too. Its therapeutic 😉

Leave a Reply

