Easter 2011

Holidays come with traditions.  Special moments that you expect to happen, and — when they happen — you know that you’re home and with family.  Traditions that transport you back to years past and make you look forward to the future. 

Traditions.  They spell comfort.  Rest.  And a warm feeling inside that bubbles over into pure happiness. 

 This was my first year hosting Easter and so traditions were being formed.  I found particular satisfaction in seeing a holiday dinner take place in my very kitchen. If this doesn’t officially turn a house into a home, then I don’t know what would.

And that night, after everyone had gone home, I found myself thinking back and wondering what traditions had begun this Easter 2011.

Was it the napkins, folded into perky bunnies and settled on a table-cloth of green?

They really did steal the show and were worth all the effort.  I’m sure that they’ll find their way back for future Easters…

Speaking of stealing the show, Stitchy did his fair share of that as well.  He kind of likes being in the center of attention.

Traditions.  Was it the homemade, creamy sweet potato and rosemary soup?  So thick, and vibrant, and full of flavor.  Definitely an Easter classic and a great way to start the meal.

Paired with one of my mom’s homemade rolls, it was so heavenly and almost made the guests forget that there was ham… and broccoli casserole… and nutmeg carrots… and potatoes… and turkey… and dill zucchini…. and green beans.

Almost.  Almost made us forget.  We did somehow find room.  Hmmm, my taste buds are sighing with happiness even now.

And if it wasn’t the soup, was it the lemon cake, filled with a thick lemon curd and topped with a lemony cream-cheese frosting? 

And don’t forget the toasted coconut. 

Or was it the goody bags, filled with healthy treats… and a chocolate peanut butter egg, of course.  🙂

No, these all added a special touch to Easter 2011, but for me, I found myself drawn to the familiar moments that I so adore from other holidays.  The laughter of my family.  The silence as everyone dug into the food.  The feeling of pure contentment as dessert was finished, and everyone was chatting, and the sun was slowly setting outside.

For me, it’s all about family.  Our closeness.  Our love.

And I so can’t wait until next year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Easter 2011

  1. allieksmith says:

    This post is just so comforting!! The soup… the napkins.. the cat.. the CAKE!! How lovely 🙂

  2. Like the whole post …

    … and love the glimpse of your china. It looks so pretty!!!

  3. vixter2010 says:

    Looks a lovely Easter to me! I love the bunny napkins 🙂

  4. Aww I love this whole post! What a BEAUTIFUL Easter! The bunny napkins are particularly adorable, but it all looks amazing. Glad you got to start some of your own traditions this year. 🙂

  5. I love how you made goodie bags for everyone to take home. So sweet.

  6. jelillie says:

    Ahh tradition! But goody bags with healthy treats? Where are the jelly beans? I want me some jelly beans!

  7. Tien says:

    Beautiful beautiful pictures Nicole! What a lovely get together 🙂

  8. sarahnsh says:

    The food looks fantastic, and the bunny eared napkins are so adorable! I’m glad that Easter was such a wonderful experience and looks like a great time.

  9. justmarriedgirl says:

    Oh, my goodness! What a beautiful dinner you prepared!!!! Love it. And I love, love, love those bunny napkins. I must learn how to perfect this.

    You are a regular Martha Stewart. How do I get on next year’s guest list? 😉

Leave a Reply

