Me and My Green Hat

A green thumb never came naturally to me, as it comes to the rest of my family.  I mean, even my Pepere is taking good care of the little potted flower my mom had bought him for Easter.  It’s still alive and little purple flowers are blooming.  I would have killed that thing long ago!  Not intentionally of course!  But when it comes to nurturing a leafy plant with roots, I fail every time.  (Except for the one time someone gave me a potted vine… and then it almost took over my entire bedroom.  But that doesn’t count, because it was more of a monster than a plant).  But anyway, I fail mostly because I forget to water plants… and then water them too much.  So it doesn’t take rocket science to figure out what goes wrong. 

Nate learned long ago not to buy me potted plants, because I get frustrated.  So he tends to stick to flowers I can arrange in a vase, since those are expected to die.  And I don’t have to live with the guilt of having killed yet another green thing. 

Still, I’m not a quitter.  I do believe that I can learn how to carefully tend to a little plant and to keep it healthy and green. 

And so, I am going to begin with plants that I have — in the past — been successful with.  Vegetables!  Nate and I were at Walmart the other day, and we plotted and schemed our way through the gardening section.  It was all very serious business.  I mean, our first garden is nothing to joke about!

Nate and I do have a slightly different view of how we should undertake this new venture.  I’m thinking we should start small.  Nate is imagining our entire front lawn being replaced by asparagus.  But still, after much discussion and even a visit with a wise-old owl (who was just a bit freaky in appearance), we came to a happy middle ground. We’re going to start smallish, but will also add on an herb garden and a flower garden. 

And since we’re doing this together, no guilt for me if something dies!  Or at least, maybe I’ll only have half the guilt.  I’m pretty confident about this though.  I helped my dad take care of his garden when I was growing up and nothing died.  That and the fact that the scallions he gave me last year are actually doing great in their little pot on my porch.  So there is hope! 

 Honestly, these scallions are thriving no thanks to any love given by me… or by my cats who actually like munching on scallions.  (Yes, I have cats walking around the house with onion breath).  But anyway, it was nice to learn that there is a plant I can’t kill. Scallions!  I now have a soft spot in my heart for these hearty, green onions and can’t wait to give them a more permanent spot in our yard with all the other herbs and veggies. 

Anyway, I imagine that this will be a learning process.  And I can’t guarantee you that I’ll end up with a green thumb in the end.  But I do have a green hat… So I guess that counts for something!!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Me and My Green Hat

  1. Haha…I love this! 😀 And you are not alone! I have no green thumb either…OR a green hat for that matter…ha. 😀 I think your garden will come out awesome! I’m convinced that outdoor plants are easier than indoor plants. 😀

  2. vixter2010 says:

    Haha I’d be hopeless at gardening too, your plan sounds sensible and I love the green hat 🙂

  3. justmarriedgirl says:

    I was just talking about starting a garden, though I don’t know if I can take care of it and a newborn! Maybe I’ll just live vicariously through you!!

  4. Joss says:

    outdoor growing is easier than indoors but you still need to……..remember to water! lol

  5. The green hat TOTALLY makes up for the thumb. 😉 I hope your garden grows well! We’re starting a little veggie garden as soon as we get the fence up and we’re really excited about it! 🙂

  6. allieksmith says:

    Aww, how cute! I have better luck with veggies than flowers too LOL! Thank goodness because I can’t eat flowers hahaha.

    I like your green hat 🙂

Leave a Reply

