Playing House

Yard work isn’t supposed to be fun.  Or at least I imagined that it wouldn’t be.  I mean, it’s not that I hated outdoor chores growing up, but still… They weren’t my first choice of how I wanted to spend my Saturday afternoons.
And I’m sure the phrase, “Please, Dad, don’t take me to the park.  I’d much rather rake the lawn” never left my lips. 

But still, there’s something about working on your own yard with your own husband that turns a chore such as spreading mulch into a magical moment.  It’s like a feeding-each-other-cake-at-the-wedding-reception-moment.  Except your hands are now covered in bark mulch, as apposed to oh-so-sweet frosting.

I almost felt emotional for a moment, as I spread out the mulch and watched Nate carry a few more bags over.  And, no, it wasn’t over how dirty my new pair of gloves had become.  I was just so completely happy at that moment.  Content.  Perfectly over-joyed to be ‘playing in the dirt’ with my husband at our very own home.

There’s a sense of pride that comes over you when you have your own place… when you work on it and really make it yours.  And there’s something so crazy special about taking care of your home alongside the one you love.  Yard work?  Yeah, it’s really not so bad after all.

In fact, I think I kind of like it… 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Playing House

  1. vixter2010 says:

    Ah we both have garden posts today. I love that you enjoyed spending time together on a project, very rewarding and you both look very happy in the pics, good job!

  2. allieksmith says:

    Yay for gardening! I LOVE the new layout!! Looks great 🙂

  3. Joss says:

    What makes life special is noticing these lovely moments – it’s like pressing flowers into a journal for safekeeping.
    walk in beauty.

  4. livvy30 says:

    That’s our plan for next weekend! 🙂

  5. Love the look! Your guys’ house is adorable, and the flowers are so, so pretty.

    And the picture of you two is absolutely adorable. 😀

  6. Mrs. Fish says:

    I hope I feel that way about gardening/lawn care when my husband and I buy a house! I always hated helping my parents growing up!

  7. It sounds like a truly simple and special moment! I’m glad you had fun with your hubby.

  8. Love the garden…My boyfriend and I were just doing the same last week with mulch in front of our house! It is a great feeling working together in your own space!!

Leave a Reply

