Wedding # 2: Tyson and Krista

I remember it as though it were yesterday.  We were just kids, running barefoot around a grassy back yard, while our parents chatted over pieces of pie. 

He was all boy, one of the oldest and fastest.  She was a little lady, but still not afraid to run in the grass or even to get a bit dirty.  We played the usual childhood games, ranging from tag, to ‘Mother May I?’ to Hide and Seek.  Then we’d collapse in the shade of a tree and guzzle tall glasses of cold lemonade. 

Life stood still on those warm summer days.  We weren’t concerned about growing up, bills that needed to be paid, or even the future.  It was all about the moment.  The laughter.  The friendship.  The things that really mattered, like whether or not it was fair for the teams to be made of girls against boys.

 

But we did all grow up.  Some of us went to college.  Some moved away.  We found jobs, moved into apartments, fought to make our dreams come true. 

He became a fire-man.  She worked in accounting.  And the friendship between them that had begun years ago when we were all just children blossomed into something more.  Into something greater.  Stronger.

Into love.

And on May 1st, I was honored to sit in a little, New England church and to watch them promise to always love and cherish each other… until death do them part.

He has turned into a confident man.  And she has grown into a beautiful, young woman.  But when they shared their first kiss as husband and wife and turned their beaming faces towards the audience of family and friends, I was carried back to those childhood days.  And I remembered a little boy and a little girl jumping in excitement after they had won a game of capture the flag. 

Only this time, the adventure was just beginning…

Congratulations, Krista and Tyson!! 

 

***

 

The Specifics:

The Cake

The cake.  Oh my goodness, it won — hands down — the Most Beautiful Wedding Cake I Have Ever Seen award.  I don’t usually compare weddings, because I know that everyone has different tastes… and I believe that each wedding, although unique, is beautiful.  But this cake was something out of a bridal magazine and definitely stood out from any wedding cake I’ve ever seen.  Gorgeous!

(And my picture doesn’t quite capture it, but the top was all sparkly with edible glitter).  🙂

Oh, yes, and the flavor was lemon, which is my husband’s absolute favorite.  No lie, he took one bite and then whispered to me, “Why didn’t we have this kind of cake for our wedding?”  Ha, ha!  So, yes, this cake definitely was definitely a huge hit!

The Menu

Buffet!  There was a variety of choices, from meatballs, to pasta, to roasted chicken, to green beans… to everything else that I ate before I remembered to take a picture. Ha, ha.  The selection was great, the food was hot, and the hubby and I definitely enjoyed our meal!

Favors

Hershey Kisses!  I’d forgotten how delicious those silver drops of goodness were.  🙂  The chocolate was a delightful treat… and the presentation was adorable.  The kisses were presented in little white boxes that were wrapped in ribbon and then sealed with golden wax.

The Centerpiece

I was in love with these creative centerpieces, which reflected a side of both the bride and the groom.  A classic lantern and a stack of books… A whimsical centerpiece perfect for a fire-man and his literature-loving wife.  To tie the centerpiece together, there was a hand-written plaque which included a Bible verse and an adorable line:  Today a fire fighter married his flame. 

 

My Wedding Outfit #2

 A high-waisted dress with a black ‘skirt’ and ruffly white top.  From the Limited…. On sale, of course! 

Two weddings down… One to go!  🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wedding # 2: Tyson and Krista

  1. vixter2010 says:

    Aw so sweet they grew up together and are now married. Wow the cake looks amazing – glitter and lemon? Uh, yes please! And I love the center piece idea as a book lover, nice to see something unique.

  2. This was such a sweet post. You totally brought me back to being a kid and playing football. Those were the days. 😀

    Love the pictures! What an absolutely beautiful wedding! Congratulations, Krista and Tyson! 😀

  3. I’ve never been to a wedding that had a buffet for the main meal, but most of the weddings I go to are enormous so there would just be too many people for a buffet to work well.

    I LOVE those centrepieces.

  4. Joss says:

    What a lovely tribute you’ve written to your friends. I hope you send them a copy. They will cherish it.

  5. allieksmith says:

    I love the way you write stories.. especially cute and true love stories!! ADORABLE 🙂
    The cake is gorgeous too!

  6. Thank you so much for sharing! I soooooo wish I could have been there and I’ve been watching blogs for pictures and those oh-so-important wedding details! 🙂 It was also really nice to catch a peep into the story behind the story – that began before Krista and I became friends in our teens. Again … thank you so much for sharing. Now I feel, a tiny bit, as if I was there too!!! 🙂

  7. dianacheung says:

    I love weddings!! And I love friendships that last for years and years. Congrats to the couple!

  8. dianacheung says:

    buffet style is the way to go!!! And that cake is gorgeous!!! I wish my cake was nicer but at the end of the day, I couldn’t pay anymore bills!! hahaha

  9. sarahnsh says:

    I love your posts about weddings because you can literally feel the happiness and excitement you have for the couple. The cake is totally gorgeous and I kinda see the sparkle on the top you were describing. Looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

