Cupcake Dreams

I’ve never been very artistic. 

Although I’d like to say that I’m creative when it comes to the written word, I can’t draw worth beans.  In fact, if you were to ask me to draw a picture of my family, I’d resort to stick figures… which, I’d like to add, are completely under-rated.

I suppose this is why I struggle with cookie decorating so much.  The gingerbread men and sugar cookies my sister and I have been making for years are still family favorites… but I don’t think their appearance has improved much since I began decorating them at the age of six. 

Even trying to follow pictures from magazines doesn’t help.  The gingerbread men designs always look so easy, but — in the end — my sister and I succumb to the sugar high and end up laughing hysterically and just smearing blobs of frosting onto the poor festive cookies…. and into our mouths. 

It’s a fun tradition, don’t get me wrong.  But still, sometimes you have to just realize that cookie decorating isn’t your thing.  And then you have to move on…

…to cupcakes.

I can’t remember when I first fell in love with these personal, adorable cakes; but it was well before the cupcake phenomenon hit the planet.  And I can’t remember when it hit me that there are just not enough cupcakes in my life, but this realization apparently hit my sister as well.  And so we decided to take matters into our own hands.

And to learn how to decorate cupcakes.

Over the weekend, we took the first step into our cupcake endeavor and made a batch.  They came out surprisingly adorable… and then we had to add the frosting.

Sigh. 

My sister and I have an issue with spreading frosting, apparently.  (Actually, we just added too much powder sugar, so the frosting turned into fudge… Which really wasn’t a bad thing, because how can you ever complain if something turns into fudge?).

Besides, it was only attempt number one. And we plan on doing this once a month, so we have to improve over time.  Seriously, we have to.  Our future cupcakes depend on it!

Recipes will come in the future, as we perfect them.  But for now, I leave you with a picture of the finished product.  Our first cupcake attempt as part of our once-a-month-cupcake-quest.  And I also leave you with a question. 

What should my sister and I call our little ‘cupcake company’?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cupcake Dreams

  1. vixter2010 says:

    I heart cupcakes but only made them once, turned out okay but nothing fancy. I’d love to learn too, great idea can’t wait to see what you guys create! I think your blog title is a good company name 🙂

  2. Aww, I bet your skills will get better and better! I look forward to seeing what you guys come up with!

  3. dottylizzy says:

    I absolutely love, love, love your cupcake cases!! 😛 And yummy looking cupcakes … mmm

  4. That picture is very, very unfair! It makes me crave a cupcake right now, expect there are none for me to eat. I will just have to image how good they were 🙂

  5. allieksmith says:

    Your cupcakes look lovely! I have cake dreams… I should be doing a post tomorrow or today on a special cake I made 😉

  6. dianacheung says:

    Love that your sis and you bake so much. Hmm…name? Baked?

Leave a Reply

