Memorial Day – Part 1

You know how sometimes, you get your hopes up about something, only to be disappointed?

Well, I can honestly say this weekend wasn’t such an experience. In fact, it was even better than I had imagined it would be.

***doing cartwheels on the inside***

It’s funny, because I still kept reasonably busy over my long weekend.  I had imagined myself lounging in bed until noon, taking a bubble bath soon afterward, and then crawling back into bed to watch the Food Network for the rest of the day.  I was that tired going into this weekend.  All I could imagine was sleep.  And bubble baths.  Television.  And sleep. 

Did I mention sleep?

Friday afternoon, I literally skipped out of work, the weight of the world lifting off my shoulders as I realized that the next three days were mine. No plans. No schedules. Nowhere to be and nothing to do.

Except sleep, if I were to so choose.  😉

Nate and I ate outdoors for dinner, the cool breeze blowing away all my worries and cares.  It was as though I had been holding my breath for weeks and I could finally breathe again. 

***Note from Nicole: So I had more to this post, but WordPress obviously decided to delete it.  Oh, well, I have more coming to let you know how the weekend was*** 🙂

I will say that I’ve learned just how important it is to slow down…. 

You know, sometimes loving the simple moments isn’t enough.  Sometimes, you have to make time for them. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Memorial Day – Part 1

  1. Megan says:

    Yay for the weekend being even better than anticipated! So happy for you 🙂

  2. I love long weekends! I felt so refreshed and happy after this past weekend too. 😀

  3. allieksmith says:

    YAY! Ah yes.. making time for simple moments is important! I am glad that you got a chance to slow down and relax 🙂

Leave a Reply

