Memorial Day Weekend – Part 3

There’s something refreshing about sleeping until your body says you’ve rested enough.  And then heading outside for a morning run, just before the sun has had a chance to get really warm and the breeze is still cool. 

I did this on all three mornings of my long weekend, and although running the hilly two miles was a bit tough, I felt strangely rested afterward.  Content.  Strong.

I’ve found that I too often immerse myself in technology, always surrounded by shrilling phones and glaring laptop screens.  It often follows me even after I leave work.  And I’m constantly living by schedules, always getting ready to go somewhere or to meet someone.  Getting away from it all cleared my head.  Eased the tension even better than a massage would have.  Made me feel like myself again.

I spent the latter part of both Sunday and Monday morning on the back porch with some magazines and a tall glass of water.  Sometimes, I even just put the magazine down to rest my eyes and watched the birds dance through the trees. 

Don’t worry, I had plenty of friends to keep me company.  Highstreet and Stitch were more than happy to spend the majority of the day outside with me. 

I honestly just did what I felt like doing for two whole days.  Sure, I washed the dishes (always forgetting about the paper plates in the cupboard) and tidied the kitchen when necessary. But that was honestly kind of fun, because there was no need to rush.  I did everything at my own pace… which was much slower than it usually is. 

I baked a banana bread.  Whipped together a potato salad.  Read and wrote whenever I felt like it. Took bubble baths.  Watched a bit of the Food Network.  Went for a hike with the hubby.  Did my nails.

I may have even taken a nap one afternoon, just to catch up on sleep.  Again, the kitties were more than happy to join me.  (Highstreet is SUCH a cuddle-bug and pretty much followed me around the house all weekend).  🙂

It kind of felt like how summer used to feel as a kid.  Lazy.  Never-ending.  Full of sunshine and outdoor activities and — of course — summery foods!

On Sunday, the hubby and I had a cookout with BBQ chicken, corn on the cob, potato salad, and watermelon.  I loved that all I had to do was make the salad, and then the hubby took care of the rest. He’s a whiz at the grill, and I have no intention of learning to be as good.  (See, it’s my secret way of getting him to cook dinner).  😉

Yummy!

So, if I learned anything this weekend, I learned that I need to learn to slow down even when life is busy.  I need to stop taking the fast-paced craziness from work home with me.  When I step into my kitchen, I should realize I’m home.  And I should change out of my work clothes and focus on breathing.  Slowing down.  Taking a moment to pray, to eat dinner on the patio, to go for a run, and to read a bit in a book. 

I need to focus on what’s important.  The simple things.  Spending time with my husband and family.  Getting some fresh air.  Walking barefoot in the grass.  Calling a friend on the phone.  Cuddling with a kitten. 

Because when it comes right down to it, they’re really not so simple.  They’re priceless moments of my life.

How do you make time for summer — and just the simple moments of life — despite how busy you might be? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Memorial Day Weekend – Part 3

  1. Elisabeth says:

    It sounds like your weekend was perfect!

    I love how you put lots of pictures in your posts!

  2. The picture of Highstreet made my day. 😀 Oh, and how are you liking your new book?

    I make time even on the busy days by scheduling “myself” in. It’s one of the easiest things to overlook, but if I don’t feel energetic and ready, then I’m of no use to anybody else (including work.) I don’t let anything come up to cancel out this time. It’s too important. 😀

  3. Sounds like an awesome weekend! I try to make it outside as much as possible in the summer, I love the sunshine!!

  4. vixter2010 says:

    A great way to spend a weekend, your cats are so cute I miss not having one! You’re so right about needing to chill, work can be so hectic and stressful, home should be a haven!

  5. I hardly slow down, even when it’s a vacation day. I’m go-go-go all the time. I always have to be doing something.
    My husband is the complete opposite. He always wants to just relax.

    It’s nice that you were able to slow down a bit this weekend!

  6. Carin says:

    i’m taking your advice and finally slowing down! woo…..after weeks of crazy i’m back to commenting. i’ve missed your blog! 🙂 glad you had a great weekend.

  7. Joss says:

    you are on the right track! Slowing down becomes a way of life when you put in good habits like changing out of your work clothes when you get home and making the transition from work mode to home mode. What an awesome weekend you had. Now, what about this weekend? couldn’t resist.

  8. Ahhhhh…makes me want a break!! Can I come to your house for dinner? ? 🙂

  9. allieksmith says:

    What a PERFECT weekend! So happy that you got a nice break to relax and take a hake!

Leave a Reply

