Getting Better… one day at a time

Thank you SO much, everyone, for your kind thoughts, prayers, and words of encouragement!  I don’t have much time to write this morning, because I need to be at work early… and I have to make sure that Nate is situated and comfortable since I’ll be gone for the day.  (Sad face). 

His sore jaw is slowly healing, and he was able to eat a bit of solid food last night.  But I think that yesterday was the roughest day on him so far.  Everything seemed to catch up with him all at once, emotionally and physically, and he was just left feeling exhausted.  In fact, I took him for a little ride in the car, just to get him out of the house, and he pretty much slept through the whole thing!

Emotions are a funny thing.  I’ve been so strong since it all happened on Friday afternoon, but here I am — Monday morning — and I want to cry my eyes out.  I think part of it is that it took some time to sink in… and also because I haven’t had a decent night’s sleep in three days.  (Nate can’t sleep well, because his broken nose makes it hard to breathe). 

I just pray that I can be strong through a stressful, busy day at work and not make a blubbering fool of myself.  😉

Again, though, I’m trying to focus on the positive, because it could have been a lot worse!  His injuries will heal quickly (although the broken nose will take some time), and I’ll bet that he’ll be feeling almost as good as new by the end of the week.  He just needs to take this a day at a time and let the worst of the injuries heal.

I’ll have a better — and more positive — post tomorrow morning.  🙂  For now, I just wanted to check in and to let you know that we’re still alive over here… and that we truly appreciate all of your kindness!

How do you deal with an emotional situation?  Does it hit you at once or does it take a couple of days to sink in?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Getting Better… one day at a time

  1. *Hugs.* Hang in there, Nicolie!!

    Emotional situations definitely hit me all at once. Like walking into a wall. Unless, of course, I’m with a group of people that I don’t really know. Then I can put up a strong field of defense and act all strong without any sign of human emotion. But get me alone and it all comes out.

    You and Nate are so strong!! And you’ll get through this!

  2. allieksmith says:

    Aww, Nicole and Nate-Hang in there!!! I have broken my nose twice and I can assure you, it gets better each day. I’m so sorry that this happened and you two are continually in my prayers <333

  3. sarahnsh says:

    Hang in there, and I’m so sorry to hear what happened. You definitely are a lot stronger than me, I’d be a blubbering fool being alone with them. I’m just happy to hear that he is feeling better, you two just take care and I have you guys in my thoughts!

  4. dottylizzy says:

    I’m glad Nate’s a bit better! I hope your day at work went smoothly and you can settle down to a cosy evening with your poorly hubby. Praying for you both. Hugs!

  5. Joss says:

    thank you for taking the time to update us about things. Take care of YOU in the midst of this and, at some point, have a good hard cry. Prayers and blessings being sent your way.

  6. Oh girl, I know this is so difficult right now, but God is walking beside you both, holding you right now. He’s got you both. Love you, Nicole!

  7. jelillie says:

    For me a couple of months… but then I am a guy… fairly emotionally stunted so it takes me a while to realize I am even having an emotion.

Leave a Reply

