Cup Half Full… and still getting fuller

So I don’t know how it happened, but yesterday kind of turned into a bad day.  As today marks one week since Nate ended up in the emergency room, I’ve come to the conclusion that this terrible, horrible, no good, very bad week just wanted to hang on until the bitter end.  😉

It was nothing life or death…  Just some little, disappointing things that added up.  Like things changed, and I can no longer have Monday off from work. (That was a huge disappointment, because Nate and I were even talking about going away for a night).  And I got caught in a severe thunderstorm, one of my shoes fell off as I was rushing across the parking lot into work, and I was left with a very wet foot.  (You women know how much fun it is to walk around in wet nylons!).  And someone at work stole my yogurt, which was just so not cool.

I could just feel the negative attitude creeping up on me, and I had a choice.  Dwell on it and focus on every other little thing that didn’t go my way, or take a deep breath and ask God to help me remain positive.

And I’ll admit, at first, I didn’t even want God’s strength to do that. I know, that sounds horrible.  But I honestly just wanted to have a bad attitude and to stomp around and to remain in my bubble of gloom.

Have you ever heard of the book by Barbara Johnson called Pack Up Your Gloomies in a Great Big Box, then Sit on the Lid and Laugh?  Well, I knew that this is exactly what I needed to do. So I did!

I took that deep breath.  Said my little prayer.  And decided to not let the fact that my long weekend had been shortened to a regular one ruin my birthday.  I mean, sure, I won’t have three days off with the hubby. But I will have two.  And that’s more than we usually have.

So, yes, I will have an awesome weekend, and I will enjoy every minute!  Nothing is going to bring me down!

(Now excuse me as I run upstairs to rinse my eye, because I woke up to see that it was  pink and swollen.  Yeah, don’t worry, it’s not going to get me down. I like the color pink).

Happy Friday!  Any fun plans for the weekend???  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cup Half Full… and still getting fuller

  1. jelillie says:

    Graduations and gardens! I will pray for your pink eye 😦

  2. I’m sure you’ll get food poisoning or something on Sunday so that you’ll have to stay home Monday. Just Sayin’

  3. Tien says:

    I am loving your positivity…go Nicole 🙂

  4. allieksmith says:

    Great job staying positive and praying your way through little troubles 🙂
    Hope your weekend is amazing as you deserve it to be!

  5. sarahnsh says:

    It is just so, so uncool people at work eating your food… especially yogurt, I love my greek yogurt! I’m super OCD about people taking my stuff, I bring a permanent marker with me and mark everything with my name. I hope you still have a great weekend and enjoy your 2 days off, and have a fabulous birthday!

Leave a Reply

