My 28th Birthday

So, my mom and sister showed up to my birthday BBQ on Friday night wearing the same color as I was.  Purple.  No, we did not plan this.  Honestly, it’s not unusual for me and my sister to show up somewhere wearing the same exact tank top or sweater, but for the three of us to match was a bit much.  Back in the day, we would have freaked out and changed our outfit.  Now we just laugh and take pictures.

Yes, turning twenty-eight has matured me.

The guys felt a tad bit left out, and Nate even ran upstairs to see if he could find anything purple to wear.  Unfortunately, purple is as prevalent in his wardrobe as pink might be.  It just doesn’t exist.  Sorry, guys!  Next time we’ll go with a color that you can wear too.

For dinner, I had my usual birthday-menu selections:  cheeseburgers, side salads, and icecream sundaes. No, it doesn’t get old.  I mean, seriously, icecream sundaes are perfection in a bowl.  Why mess with that?

What did mess with my birthday plans was rain…  I had originally been hoping to go to the zoo, but waking up to cold, drizzly weather on Saturday changed that.  (Changed that for now. I still intend to go to the zoo this summer).  🙂

Nate saved the day by first bringing us to Chili’s for dinner.  I had a turkey sandwich with a side of cinnamon apples.  The apples were so warm and ooey-gooey.  Perfect for a cold day!

Nate, on the other hand, had a Cobb salad, which was so huge he almost couldn’t even finish it.  It was like our roles had been reversed or something. I’m usually the one who has a hard time finishing dinner… and who orders the salad.  😉

Then Nate took us to see the play My Fair Lady, which is one of my favorite plays!  I’ve seen the movie and even read the play several times, but I’ve never seen it performed on stage.  The acting was SO good, and the songs made me want to get up and dance!  🙂

Oh, yes, and we were entertained off the stage too.  There was an adorable elderly man sitting in front of us who kept complaining that he couldn’t see, because he had dropped his opera glasses. And then, after the play, as we were all leaving the theater, he turned to me and said, “You look just like Eliza.”  (Eliza is the main character of the play).

I told Nate that I was just going to take the compliment, even if the gentleman had complained the entire time about not being able to see without his glasses.  Hey, a compliment is a compliment, right?  😉

And on Sunday, I pretty much relaxed all afternoon by catching up on my novel and some blogs.  I also put away my birthday presents.  On Friday night, I had received some adorable earrings, a scrap book, a cupcake stand, and a cute potholder and dish towel.

So far, being 28 is pretty fun!  🙂

What has been your favorite age so far?  I’m not sure if I have a definite favorite year yet, although the year I got married is up there.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My 28th Birthday

  1. Happy Birthday, Nicole!! Birthdays..hmm…I have always liked odd numbers best (weird, I know), so I really liked being the age 23.

  2. Favorite age so far. Hmm…I’d say 21 or 22. But I’m feeling like 24 is going to be a good year too! 😀

    Happy Birthday!! You look gorgeous, by the way, and I love your outfit! 😀

  3. Carin says:

    happy birthday!! i like all those purples together. glad you had a good day, despite the rain.

  4. vixter2010 says:

    Happy birthday! I’m 28 too 🙂 I’m a bit worried about hitting 30 as it seems really grown up! Glad you had a great time.

  5. Joss says:

    what a fabulous weekend you had! good food, good friends, great family and My Fair Lady. It’s the first movie I saw at a theatre and I was mesmerized. Sat through it twice – you could do that back then. It was like this magical world had opened its doors to me.

  6. Happy Birthday!!

    I personally thought being 18 was awesome.

  7. daniellery says:

    Happy Birthday! Hilarious that you all wore the same colour. I don’t really know which age I’d say was my favourite…interesting question!

  8. dottylizzy says:

    Aww, that sounds like a wonderful, wonderful day!! Nate obviously knows you very well! 🙂 I’ve seen the Audrey Hepburn musical of My Fair Lady, but it sounds like the real live things is oh, so much better!! 😀
    What could anyone ever have against ice-cream sundaes?!? Yumm-eeey!! 😛

  9. justmarriedgirl says:

    I’m a little behind on this, but happy belated birthday! So glad Nate is feeling better!!!

  10. Tien says:

    Happy belated birthday Nicole!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

