Stepping Through the Crazy… together

I think that I’m in some sort of supersonic-speed mode and so I’m able to function when it comes to all the work I need to do… but communication has sort of fell by the way-side.  Nate and I went for a drive last night, and I barely said a thing.  He kept looking at me, obviously concerned that I was upset and so therefore giving him the silent treatment.

So every time he turned to look, I’d give him a wide smile. And then he’d focus on the road again, and my face would slump back into a dazed stare.

So exhausted. Too busy.  Just wanting a moment of rest and quiet.

Oh, yes, haven’t we been here before?

This Saturday is my best friend’s bridal shower, and I have to prepare cold soup and breads to serve 70, in addition to all the planning that is finally reaching it’s end.  On top of that, I’m working over-time at the office.  And then there’s just everything else.

To ask me to communicate as well is just too much…

And then I realize that I’m hurting nothing but myself.  And maybe the hubby.  And maybe my marriage.

Yeah, communication is kind of important to a relationship.  As is having fun.

Planning my best friend’s shower has brought back many fun memories of the engaged versions of me and Nate.  This is a pic taken on the morning of my wedding shower.  We look like kids.  Nate was skinnier.  My hair was curlier. We were so in love.

We’re still so in love, but I think we’ve settled into the realization that adult life is busy.  And because we’re married, our dates are fewer in between, so the fun memories we make together are cut a bit short.

I’m realizing more and more that we need to make each day count.  Even if it’s just putting in one of our favorite cd’s as we do the dishes together.  We have to make time.  We have to talk, and make plans, and share dreams, and just laugh together.  We have to put our relationship first!

But let me tell you, fighting past the craziness won’t be easy.  But I think a love like ours is worth it!  🙂

So, yeah, I’ve written blogs like this before about  how busy we are and about our daily struggle to make sure we have time for each other. This might not even be our last. Hey, we’re still kind of new at this marriage thing.  🙂  But we’ll get there…  It is just a learning process and it’s something that we get to learn together.

Do you have a hard time balancing relationships with how busy you are?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Stepping Through the Crazy… together

  1. Life can definitely get too busy, but I like how you pointed out that even the simple, small things count. Maybe they even count the most!

    I love this flashback picture of you guys! 😀

  2. Joss says:

    it’s always a balancing act, and some times more difficult than others. But you are so on the right track. Daily time together. It doesn’t have to be a big thing. Sometimes my sweeetie and I play a game of cards together, even in the midst of business. One of us will say “hey, wanna a game of cards?” and we take that 20 minutes to play and laugh together.

  3. Life requires balance We all know this…but periodically reminding ourselves to get back on the right track is key!

  4. Carin says:

    this was a really good reminder, especially as my life is about to get even more busy. i need to slow own and enjoy the days because i’ll never be 27 again!

  5. Definitely. Matt and I had our first date in MONTHS on saturday when we went to the Melting Pot. But, we do a lot of other things together. Things I might have considered to be dates before we got married. I guess my definition of a “date” has changed.

  6. Meg says:

    When the hubbs and I were both still working, we certainly felt like we had less time for each other. We have made an effort to make time for each other when we first wake up or when we go to bed at night, even if it’s just laying in bed talking. I think it’s important to take time out for dates, whether it’s playing tennis in the park, going for walks or making dinner together, or even just sitting on the porch!

  7. sarahnsh says:

    It’s so hard with work, life, and everything else to make that time for each other, but you just gotta be aware of it and like you said, make every moment you have count. It’s just tough with the craziness of life to slow down, but sometimes we just need to take it slower. I hope things get better and you just have a lot on your plate!

  8. Aww … that picture is so cute! Every blessing in this busy-busy-busy season of your lives …

Leave a Reply

