Melons, Waffles, and Dinnertime

I tried to be as inconspicuous as possible as I casually pushed my shopping cart through the grocery store aisles.  But you can’t blend in very well when your cart is filled with 4 containers of blueberries, 5 bunches of bananas… and 15 cantaloupes.

Yes, fifteen.

After all, preparing enough cold soup to feed 70 people requires a lot of cantaloupe… and apparently muscles as well, since melons are heavy.

It was enough to get me some attention and maybe a grumble or two as people realized that I was making off with nearly the entire melon display.  Most people laughed.  Pointed.  And stared.

Look, Mommy, there goes the melon lady. 

Nate came home tonight and exclaimed, “Holy Moly” when he saw the mini fruit-stand growing in the corner of our kitchen.

Just wait until he sees the bill. 

But anyway, melons aside, Nate didn’t get home until late tonight, because he had to be at church while I had come straight home after working over-time.  So I busied myself in the kitchen until Nate got home, and we both settled down to a dinner of scrambled eggs and homemade waffles.

I’d honestly forgotten about how much I love waffles.  They’re best smothered in peanut butter, if you ask me, but tonight we drizzled them with fresh strawberries.  And I must say that they were pretty GOOD!

Busy day?  Yeah, it was.  But you know what?  It was nothing that some homemade waffles and a conversation over the dinner table couldn’t fix.  🙂

What do you like your waffles topped with?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Melons, Waffles, and Dinnertime

  1. Mmm…I love waffles! I like it topped with either a fresh berry sauce, pb and bananas, caramelized apples, or a pineapple chobani yogurt with some berries sprinkled on top. Waffles just hit that spot, sometimes! 😀

  2. Joss says:

    what a great way to end your day – with smiles and togetherness and, oh yeah, awesome waffles!

  3. jelillie says:

    whi[[ed cream and strawberries or blueberries!

Leave a Reply

