What Really Matters

Where to start…  Where to start…

I feel as though I’ve been away from a close friend for too many days, and now I’m about to chatter a mile a minute as I share all the current happenings in great detail.  🙂

Like my best friend’s bridal shower…   The planning of my first ever give-away on Loving Simple Moments… An unexpected illness…  And a spontaneous vacation.

Yes, a lot can happen in a week.

Don’t worry, I promise to stick to just one topic at a time.  🙂

There are some moments that make you think. Make you feel.  Make you realize that the things you were worrying about were so little and that you really are so incredibly blessed.

I had such a moment this week in the form of a health scare.

In all honesty, it doesn’t take much for me.  I’m one of those people who will worry about getting gangrene from a papercut and who can’t watch emergency room television shows without feeling convinced that the rare disease being portrayed is something that I somehow concocted.  (Thus my decision to become an English major, as apposed to a nurse).

But this illness was a little more serious than what I was used to.  It actually started two weeks ago on my birthday, when I woke up with a burning stomach and intense nauseous.  For the first week, I forced myself to eat and tried to ignore the symptoms, but after seven continuous days, I couldn’t any longer.  The next week — the week I didn’t blog — I lost six pounds in just a few days because I couldn’t seem to digest food properly.

I went to the doctor’s, and they took blood work and told me that I’d hear back the following week.  Until then, I had to stick to the B.R.A.T. diet.  (A diet consisting of easy-to-digest foods: bananas, rice, applesauce, and toast).

Stay tuned for my up and coming novel entitled 101 Ways to Eat a Banana.

It was a long weekend of not knowing.  And the more exhausted and light-headed I felt, the more I wondered how serious this was.

The passing of each day, I realized just how blessed I am to have my home.  My family.  My husband.  My faith.

Honestly, there are days that I wake up and somehow feel slighted because I don’t have a cute outfit to wear to work… or because I had to buy a cheaper hair product that week… or because we can’t afford to fix up the house a little faster.

And then I’m reminded that these are all superficial things.  Silly things.

The moments in life that mean the most always revolve around people.  People are what matter.

Even though the doctor’s call finally came and it eased my fears by diagnosing me with nothing that a few more days of rest can’t fix, I hadn’t been cured of that feeling.  The reminder that we have but one life to live.  A beautiful life.

And since we’re only guaranteed right now, why are we wasting it worrying about the things that don’t matter?  Like the extra pound on our hips we want to lose.  Or the pair of jeans that we can’t afford.  Or the house we live in that’s just a bit too small.

Why?

I’m not sure why either.  But these past couple of weeks have reminded me, once again, to love the simple moments.  And to always embrace the people in them.

And it’s because of this reminder, the hubby and I decided to drop the work, the stress, and the hectic schedules for a bit.

We took the rest of the week off from work, and we head out tomorrow for a mini-vacation.  Because sometimes, you need to make time for what really matters.  The people you love.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Really Matters

  1. Joss says:

    we can sure worry ourselves stupid, can’t we? Glad health alert has settled. Good for you for taking rest of week off. Enjoy yourselves cuz you’re right you need to make time for the people you love – always.
    walk in beauty.

  2. Great post! I had a similar thing with my blood tests and it does make you think about what your life is like and what really matters. I think it’s great you’re taking time out to be together and focus on love. Have a great trip away!

  3. This is so true! And what a beautiful, gentle reminder to never take the “silly” things so seriously. I tend to get myself tied in a knot over things that truly don’t matter all that much. You’re right, it’s all about the simple moments in the people in them.

    HAVE FUN on your week off! 😀

  4. BrittFit says:

    so true hope the weekend was fun!! love your dress btw 😉

  5. Cait's Plate says:

    Couldn’t agree more with this post! Loved it!

  6. Laura says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂
    This is a great post, so very true. Hope you have a wonderful mini-vacation.

  7. allieksmith says:

    I agree! This post is so awesome girl! I hope you feel 100% soon but it is so good to appreciate everything during the good and bad times. Way to be 🙂

  8. Meg says:

    I love that even through the struggles you’ve been facing, you never forget how much you have and how rich your life is. I hope that you find out what it troubling your health and you will definitely be in my prayers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

