Will You Be My Neighbor… and if so, how about being my friend too?

With my parents, sister, and brother on vacation in Canada this week, I somehow feel a bit like an orphan.  I can’t call my parent’s house three times a day with questions about how to turn unthawed fish into dinner, or how to find a top that matches a striped skirt, or — most importantly — who wants to try my latest pie recipe?

I know, I’m not sure how I’ll function this week either.  😉

You don’t want to know what happened when they left on vacation a couple of years ago without me…  Thankfully, I’m married now, so the hubby will keep my crazy fashion escapades in check.  Or at least we can hope.

Family.

We’re super close, and we stand by each other through thick and thin.  The friends I’ve met throughout the year have proven themselves to me as well.  And normally, this has been enough.  The ties I have with the people I love are so strong that I’ve never wished that I had more friends to spend time with.

To me, I’d rather have an amazing few than a ton of fakers.

…until today.  Because today, I wanted so badly to make a new friend and it was all based on the fact that this particular person came with a benefit.

A swimming pool to be exact.

In my defense, the temps reached 95 degrees Farenheit this afternoon.  And that beautiful pool next door was just sitting there, filled to the brim with crystal clear, cool water.

And all I wanted was to make a F.W.B. friend.  You know, a Friend With Benefits.  It would be a lot less humiliating than my plan B… which was to collapse on my front lawn and to just lie there melting until the neighbors took pity on me and invited me to their pool to cool off.

But then again, I wasn’t sure how my plan A would appear.  Other than sent Christmas cards and a bright smile as we pass at the supermarket, we’ve been jovial yet private neighbors.  If I were to stop by to chat, while carrying my floaties and a beach towel, they probably would be suspicious.

At least that’s what I’m guessing…

So neither plan seemed that great, to be honest.

But in the end, family came through for me anyway.  Because my parents might not have a swimming pool or a beach-side front, but they do have a long garden hose and plenty of cold water.  And water from a hose cools one off just as well as a pool might.  Trust me, I know this first-hand.

I also learned that I need to drive down to the lake more often… that I need to drink more water when the temps go over 90 degrees Farenheit… and that I really do need to make friends with my neighbors.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Will You Be My Neighbor… and if so, how about being my friend too?

  1. Hehe nothing wrong with finding people to help you out in a crisis! Maybe have a BBQ and invite the neighbours and subtly mention it’s a shame you don’t have a pool when it gets really hot 🙂

  2. Joss says:

    too funny. I bet you could trade one of your pies for a dip in their pool any day!

  3. Megan says:

    I agree with Vix! Invite them over… then they can return the favor in kind! 🙂

  4. allieksmith says:

    Aww I hope you can make friends with the neighbors.. my family has a pool and all the neighbors seem to flock to our house in the summer LOL!

  5. Haha! I love this! If my neighbors had a pool then I would definitely spend more time with them… 😛 Well, okay maybe not since once is a single man in his mid 40s and the other neighbor is an elderly lady who isn’t a huge fan of us young wipper-snappers. 😛 Tell you what, I’ll move into your neighbor’s house and we can share the pool! 😉

Leave a Reply

