Just three?

So the weekend is here, and I am actually beyond excited that I don’t have any plans.  With the weather promising to be beautiful, I know that I’ll go for a run and probably read some of my new book out on the deck… but other than that, I plan on just going with the flow. Enjoying the moment.  Drinking in the sunshine and feeling its warmth on my face.

(Speaking of new books, I’m going to a bookstore with the hubby tomorrow night… Any book suggestions for me?).

Honestly, I can’t wait to see what my weekend recap holds, because I have no idea where I’ll end up over the next two days…. other than that trip to the bookstore.

Anyway, I’m actually getting much better at living in the moment and slowing down a bit each day.  And I feel much healthier and happier because of it.  (I also imagine that having much more time to pray and focus on my Bible reading has something to do with it).  🙂

Priorities.  You have to make them and stick to them, because if you don’t, life just gets too busy with stuff.

So, anyway, I was tagged by From My Front Step and asked to provide three of my favorite Bible verses.  What a challenge to pick three out of so many that have touched, guided, and changed my life!

Rather than dwell on this too long, I picked the first three that came to my mind.  (Because otherwise, there’s no way I’d be able to pick just three!)  🙂

#1.  Psalm 46:10 — “Be still and know that I am God.”

This verse is SO simple, but I whispered it over and over again in moments of fear or over-whelming stress.  And sometimes, I feel as though it was written for those with a personality like mine. I don’t ever keep still. I’m always moving and thinking a mile a minute.  (And this much thinking tends to evolve into a state of panic and worry).  I need to be told to stop — to just stop — and to know that there is One who has it all under control.  (If you’re looking for an entire chapter that’s all about finding strength and comfort, check out Psalm 91.  It’s brought me through some tough times).

#2.  Proverbs 3:5, 6Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

Knowing that if I acknowledge God and trust Him, He is going to help direct me in the decisions I make takes a ton of stress off my shoulders! 

#3.  Romans 8:38, 39 “For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

In a world filled with so much loss and heartache, it fills my heart with joy to know this!  There are so many things that can be taken away from us — including our very lives– but throughout it all, the love of Jesus remains. 

Do you have a favorite Bible verse?  🙂  If so, please share!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just three?

  1. allieksmith says:

    I love those 3 Bible verses!! My favorite is in Isaiah..

    Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” Isaiah 30:21

    I can’t wait to see what your weekend recap is filled with 🙂

  2. I don’t have any plans either and it’s blissful! Enjoy yours!

  3. Jess says:

    Love all of them, but especially the first!! 🙂

  4. Psalm 37:4 “If you delight yourself in the Lord, your God, then He will give to you the desires of your heart.”

  5. Tien says:

    I am still not very familiar with Bible verses yet. But I enjoyed reading the ones you shared here! Very inspiring. Again, I admire your positive energy Nicole 🙂

  6. jelillie says:

    I am with you Nicole . Romans 8 is one of my favorite chapters in the Bible but the knowledge that nothing can separate me from Christ’s love is just so powerful. In a world where everything seems to continually shake and fall away having the solid bed rock of my relationship with Jesus keeps me sane!

Leave a Reply

