Josh Groban… in concert

I first heard about it during a radio advertisement… and subsequently nearly drove my car off the road in my sudden excitement.  😉

Josh Groban was coming to Boston.

I may or may not have had a mild crush on him when I first heard his song You Raise Me Up in college.  So driving my car off the road was perfectly understandable, as I have been waiting years for this.  Finally, the oppertunity to hear that powerful voice in person.

So I immediately called my sister… who screamed, “YES, we have to go!”

(I also may have told her that dinner would be involved.  What can I say?  My sister and I are foodies all the way.  See how excited she is over her sandwich and soup?  Josh Groban didn’t even get that kind of reaction when he first stepped onto the stage).

Nate, my husband, was a tad bit less enthusiastic and promised to go only if I didn’t gush… and swoon… and flutter my eyes.  I promised him that I’d only do such things for him.

He was good with that.

And so, the ‘three musketeers’ headed off to Boston the other night to see the Josh Groban concert.

Food, of course, came first, because a delicious dinner only makes an exciting evening that much better.  (Except I did end up with the wrong sandwich. I asked for ‘turkey’, but the girl thought I said ‘tuna’.  And when she repeated back to me, “so you want tuna,” I said ‘yes’ because I thought she had said ‘turkey’.  Nate said it was very confusing to listen to, and he had no idea what I really wanted so he didn’t say anything.  Ha, ha!!).

To make up for my slight disappointment over dinner, Nate suggested stopping at Starbucks for a treat.

Hello!?!  More food?  I’m there!!

Sarah fixed her beverage to her liking…

Nate ordered his first ever hot latte… and loved it.  And I ordered a steamed soy with a shot of vanilla.  Soooo yummy!

To avoid traffic, which was quite bad that night for some reason, we decided to take the T into Boston.  (For those of you who’ve never been to Beantown, the ‘T’ is what we call our subway system).  Nate added money to his Charlie card so that we could easily hop onto the subway…

… and I asked Sarah — every five minutes — “Are you sure that you have the tickets?”  I think that was because Sarah kept asking me what my reaction would be if she had forgotten the tickets.  It made me nervous.  😉

But we soon arrived at the TD Bank Garden…  and Sarah did have the tickets.  🙂

We had great seats, especially since we were right by a smaller, more intimate stage that Josh sang from for several songs.  His voice was just as amazing in person, and it was easy to just get lost in the music.  So good!

And it was great to see his personality shine through.  I expected him to be serious, just because he sings a lot of romantic music…. and half of it is in French or Spanish.  But he was cracking  jokes and teasing the crowd.

Definitely a memorable experience, and I’m so glad that we were able to go!

Oh, and for the record, I did keep my end of the bargain and didn’t swoon, gush, or flutter my eyes once!  🙂  Well, not unless it was for this guy, of course!

Who did you last see in concert?  Who would you most like to see?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Josh Groban… in concert

  1. Wow … it looks as if you had a GREAT time! So glad for you … 🙂

  2. Haha…funny story:

    When Josh Groban was first entering the stage, I was about to stand up and start clapping with the rest of the audience. But my purse strap became stuck on the seat and I practically fell over. So while everyone was going nuts as Josh entered RIGHT NEAR US, I had a security guy coming over to help me get out of my seat.

    Ah yes. Embarrassing but true. 😉

    SUCH a fun time! I already want to go to another concert…haha! And the pictures came out great! I love the black and white one. 😀

  3. allieksmith says:

    Awww! So glad you had a fun time! 🙂

  4. Caitlyn says:

    No. Way. I am so jealous!! I have always wanted to see him in concert, though I would be swooning, gushing, and eye fluttering the entire time…uncontrollably! My favorite song is “You Raise Me Up,” closely followed by “The Prayer” with Charlotte Church.

    Sarah- that is hilarious! I would have shimmied out of my purse strap just so I could be the frantic, embarrasing, idiot I would be going nuts over Josh Groban!

  5. Homestead Ramblings says:

    How fun. I have that song as my ‘ring’ on my cell phone. He is amazing isn’t he?

  6. jelillie says:

    I am so sorry I did not hear about the concert. Josh Groban’s music is awesome! I am glad you had a good time!

  7. That sounds like so much fun! We are going to a STP concert in a couple weeks… just a little different:-)

  8. Oh my goodness, amazing! I remember the first time I heard Groban’s “You Raise Me Up”… tears and chills… amazing. I’d love to see him in concert! So glad you got to go! Looks like you guys had the best time. 🙂

  9. Tien says:

    I love Josh Groban too, such a beautiful and powerful voice! It sounds like a wonderful day out for the 3 muskeeters 😉 I haven’t been to a concert in my life. Would love to go see Buble. Oooooh he makes me swoon. I saw this video on youtube, Michael Buble’s concert but Josh made an appearance. They were so funny teasing each other. You have to dig it out and watch Nicole 🙂

  10. Jess says:

    I LOVEEE josh groban!! so much fun!!

  11. last concert I saw was probably avril lavigne..hahaha. OMG I would love to see Josh Groban or Michael buble!!! Jealous!

Leave a Reply

