Well, Here I Go…

It’s official… I’m leaving on Sunday for my first-ever business trip.

To prove just how far away from home I’m going — without yet giving away my destination — let me put it this way. I currently live in New England and have to drive about an hour to get to the Atlantic Ocean.

The city where I’m flying to is about an hour… from the Pacific Ocean.

So, yes, I’m traveling clear across country, which is something I never thought I’d be able to do.  So, yes, this is kind of exciting.  And I’m constantly waiting for someone to tell me that this amazing opportunity has been canceled. Or was a crazy dream I concocted in my sleep.

I knew the milk I poured into my cereal last night tasted kind of funky.

No, really, it did.

Anyway, thanks to countless hours spent on the internet, during which time I ‘explored’ airports and city travel options, I feel fairly confident about this.  Like, wow, I can actually pull this off.  Maybe even have a little fun with it too.

And the hubby is being super supportive by trying to hide just how freaked out he is by the possibility of me getting lost in some strange city… thousands of miles away.  He’s reminded me several times now that there’s no shame in walking into a store and asking for directions.  🙂  He also told me to call home if necessary, so that he can Google my location and help guide me to the nearest transportation option.

Yeah, I married a good guy.  (Although it’s a good thing that he doesn’t know how to put a tracking system on me, because he’d probably do that if he could).  😉

Between him, my research, common sense, some earnest prayers, and my new trusty purse, I think that I can actually do this!

Stay tuned to find out!  Ha, ha.

Have you ever traveled by yourself?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Well, Here I Go…

  1. You will be GREAT! Just have fun. The worst that happens is you end up lost somewhere. That’s when you go to a cafe, buy yourself a soy latte and a pastry and ask the locals where you are. 😉

    I can not WAIT to hear all about it! 😀

    (I also can’t wait to try your zucchini bread tonight…yum!)

  2. Caitlyn says:

    Have a wonderful time on your first ever business trip! Show those west-coasters what east-coasters are made of 🙂 Have fun and be safe (I’m starting to sound like a mother)!!

  3. allieksmith says:

    This is so exciting! The more you go out of your comfort zone with traveling, the more confident you will be in yourself! Have fun and take lots of pictures 😉

  4. sarahnsh says:

    Have a fun time with your business trip! Enjoy exploring a different place you haven’t been to before, don’t get too lost, and take some pictures of some good food so I can drool on my lap top checking them out. 😉

  5. livvy30 says:

    Travelling by yourself is so much fun! I love it. You’ll have a great time 🙂

  6. Meg says:

    Horray!! You can do it! I hope you enjoy my beloved west coast! 🙂

  7. dottylizzy says:

    Good luck!! And as Sarah said, I’m SURE you will do GREAT!!! I’ll looks forward to hearing about it when you get back and until then, I’ll be thinking of you and Nate!! 🙂

  8. Aww, so exciting! I’m a grad student so no real “business meetings” or anything, but I do attend academic conferences that I’ve had to travel for…I guess that’s the closest thing? I dunno if that counts….
    Good luck! I’m sure it’ll be great!

  9. How fun! I’ve never traveled by myself, unless you count solo airplane rides 🙂 You’ll do fine- good luck!

  10. sounds exactly like my husband (do you have your phone on? is it loud enough for you to hear it? do you have a map? just call me if you need anything!). Haha–gotta love ’em…but you’ll do fine!

  11. Katie says:

    Haha, every time I get lost, I call my husband and demand that he look up my nearest location on google and lead me back home. It’s always nice to fall back on those men in our lives, isn’t it? Have fun on your trip!

  12. theclambroll says:

    have a great time!! i went on a business trip to Dallas 4 years ago by myself, it was a fun experience (even though I hated leaving the hubs behind!). my favorite part was ordering room service and living it up in my hotel room one night when i didn’t feel like interacting with the conference participants…haha. have fun!

  13. I love traveling by myself. when I went to visit Glenn around the country I loved browsing the city at my own pace and going to coffee shops to get a snack! enjoy and nate has a beautiful wife who would bake for him!

Leave a Reply

