Oregon Trip – The End

Traveling is exhausting…

I can’t tell you how excited I was to pull into the hotel parking lot.

I can’t tell you how even more excited I was when I found out that I had a King-sized bed.  It could have held at least seven of me…  But it was kind of fun knowing that I had it all to myself.  😉

At this point, I was slightly zombified and tired of sitting down, so I was thrilled to find out that there was a restaurant smack-dab across the street.  I checked into the hotel and then walked over for some outdoor dining at Stanford’s.  Since I hadn’t eaten much that day, I wolfed down the entree-sized side salad… and then managed to make a small dent in the flat-bread pizza, which was the size of my head.

So delicious!

Once my stomach was happily full, I felt like a new person and so I decided to explore Lake Oswego.  After all, I had one afternoon there.  I decided to make it count!

One word pretty much describes this city.  Beautiful.

There were flowers hanging from the light-posts and growing along the side-walks.  Houses were immaculately kept, some rustic and others border-line mansions.  So pretty!

In fact, I loved it so much, I spent a good part of the next day there as well, as soon as the business portion of my trip had been completed.

Views like this seriously took my breath away, because it was unlike anything I’d ever seen before.   I don’t think I’ll ever forget just how gorgeous that white mountain was.  (In this pic, it kind of looks like a cloud.  But, no, that was actually the summit of Mt. Hood!).

Even the shopping in Lake Oswego was beautiful.  😉  I stumbled upon the Bridgeport Village by accident but fell in love immediately.

It was adorable, and I officially wanted to move out to Oregon just so I could go there whenever I wanted.

I mean, what wasn’t to love?  There were bookstores, and clothing stores, and bakeries and cafe’s.  Sigh.  So many food options. (Again, anything to do with food makes me happy).

Isn’t this Gelato store SO cute??

It was a tough decision, but — in the end — I had lunch at the Bridge City Cafe…

Best.  Sandwich.  Ever.

‘nough said.  Oh, yeah, and it came with a free chocolate chip cookie.  Be still my heart…

 

Then, since I wanted to try yet another local spot, I stopped in at Peet’s Coffee and Tea for some Hibiscus Iced T.  It was the perfect blend of sweet and sour. Probably the best iced tea I’ve ever had… so I was excited to find out that there’s a Peet’s in Boston!  I had thought they were only out west.

Anyway, all of this squeezing in good eats and beautiful sights only made my two days in Oregon fly by that much faster.  If only I had more time!  🙂

On my way to the airport, I was able to go on a scenic drive and caught a beautiful view like this.  So I’d like to say that I was able to make the most of my trip.  I saw some beautiful cities, did some shopping, and ate some great food.  But I also saw some of Oregon’s natural beauty.  And I think that may have been my favorite part.

Oregon, until we meet again…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Oregon Trip – The End

  1. Ahhh…I love it. It only keeps getting better. 😀

    And that free cookie would have totally made my day. What a treat. 😀

  2. Looks lovely! And a free cookie with a sandwich love that!!

  3. Jess says:

    Free chocolate chip cookie?! WINN!!

  4. Who did you get to take all of the photos of you? It is so nice to see that people take pride in the way their city looks.

    • Nicole says:

      I walked up to random people and said, “Hi, I’m from New England… this is my first time in Oregon… and I don’t have anyone to take my picture for me. Do you mind taking my picture?” Ha, ha! 🙂

  5. allieksmith says:

    Love it! The pizza looks so great and i’m glad you made it through Oregon alive! Woo hoo!!

  6. jelillie says:

    Great Pics Nicole! Can’t wait for the next travblog!

  7. justmarriedgirl says:

    Great pictures! What a beautiful place.

  8. Katie says:

    I’ve never been to Oregon, it looks beautiful! I love Peet’s (we have them in CO) – glad you had such a great trip!

  9. Wow … it sounds like you had an amazing time. I love the pictures. Oregon looks beautiful!!!

  10. You have such a lovely attitude and it shines forth and turns what could have been a boring, stay in a motel, business trip into a fun adventure!!

  11. sarahnsh says:

    I love the little cute Gelato shop and it just looks like a very pretty and scenic city. I’m glad you got to have yourself some good eats and enjoy yourself even if it was a short business trip.

  12. Great pictures!! I love all the pictures with you in them. I always feel like a doofus when I ask people to take my picture.

Leave a Reply

