Let’s Try This One More Time

Okay, so I’m officially ready to go back to my usual blog posts about cooking, and marriage, and just good ol’ life in general.

But first, I thought that I should share how my CAT scan went… or didn’t go.

As you all know, I had a CAT scan of my stomach scheduled for Tuesday, since I’ve been having some digestive problems.  And as I had mentioned in my previous post, I had to drink two large bottles of a white substance in order to prep for it.

Well, turns out that this lovely liquid tastes like pepto bismal… and is the same consistency.  (The bottle also tells you to ‘shake well’ before drinking, because you will otherwise end up with a clumpy drink. But I didn’t find that out until too late.  Oops).

So anyway, I gagged and guzzled my way through both bottles as requested… and I fasted lunch like I was supposed to… and I arrived at the hospital only to be told that their CAT scan machine was broken so could I come back on Thursday?

Oh, yes, and don’t forget to grab two more bottles of the disgusting liquid on your way out, because you’re going to have to drink through that again.

The man who gave me this information had pulled me aside into a hallway, apparently afraid that I was going to have a meltdown right then and there when told that I had to prep for this again.  But I didn’t have a meltdown.  In fact I just nodded and said, “okay.”  He stared at me in amazement, then laughed and teased that I’m a good Christian woman for staying so calm.

What he didn’t realize was that I was in shock.

That and I realized that having a tantrum wouldn’t change anything.  Their machine was broken.  I had to come back.  Case closed.

So today, I get to drink two more bottles of that lovely stuff before fasting lunch and then heading back to the hospital for my CAT scan.

It’s kind of like deja vu… in the worst possible way.  😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Let’s Try This One More Time

  1. Oh … that’s tough! Yay for you – your response to the change of plans for your scan took real grace! Praying for you (again! 🙂 ) today …

  2. jelillie says:

    So sorry Nicole! Hope it wasn’t quite as bad the second time around.

  3. Oh man! What a bummer 😦
    Good luck today and hopefully the CAT scan machine is working for the tech’s sake. The last thing he’ll see is a bottle of clumpy white stuff in trajectory to his head!

  4. Homestead Ramblings says:

    😦

  5. sarahnsh says:

    That’s terrible! I hope they don’t do that to you again, that’s ridiculous! And I bet it is like deja vu… but in a really bad way.

  6. livvy30 says:

    Oh no! Good luck today though 🙂

  7. Megan says:

    Ughhhh! That stinks!!! Prayers that the “goo” went down smoothly and you find answers to your troubles. Will be thinking about ya! xoxo

  8. OMFG i would have been so pissed. OMFG. What the hell? I hope everything will turn out better…can’t believe you need a scan!

  9. hang in there. all will be well.

Leave a Reply

