Vacation is Coming!

Most New Englanders adore summer.  They live for flip flops and tank tops.  For days at the beach, BBQ’s, and icecream. Oh, and we can’t forget camping under the stars, lobster bakes, hiking, corn on the cob, and gardening.

Honestly, what’s not to love?

And in the spring, as the sun’s warm kiss becomes that much stronger, children wiggle in their seats.  Teachers can hardly concentrate.  And there’s a feeling of excitement in the air as everyone comes to the very same conclusion: summer vacation is coming!

But like clockwork, just as quickly as the giddiness showed up, the first crisp morning and fallen leaf announces that fall  is coming.  That it’s time to buy school supplies and set the alarm clock.  Because vacation is over and it’s time to buckle down into a life of routine once again.

Then again, that’s most people.

See, Nate and I live for Autumn.  For crisp mornings that make you shiver and fallen leaves that crunch under your feet.  For pumpkins, apple picking, fresh maple syrup, and glorious maples that turn a brilliant shade of red.

We’ve always adored it.  In fact, when we barely knew each other and were hiking up a mountain with mutual friends, I declared my love for the crisp, cool season… between my huffing and puffing, of course. And Nate replied, “Wow, I love the fall too!  We have so much in common.”

(Yeah, he was trying to impress me even then).  😉

But our love for the fall season really has been an important part of our lives.  Because we were married in the fall.  And we have always taken our vacations in the fall.  And so, for us, the crisp mornings and slowly changing trees can only mean one thing:  vacation is coming!

                                   (That’s a pic from our first wedding anniversary)

So while everyone else is hard at work and trying to once again focus on their routines, Nate and I are wriggling in our chairs.  Giddy and ancy.  Daydreaming.

Because vacation is coming.  And if that’s not enough to make us feel like kids again, then I don’t know what could.  🙂

What’s your favorite season?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Vacation is Coming!

  1. I love the fall!! It does mean the end of vacation season for me, but it’s still so beautiful that I can’t help but be excited. And there are so many wonderful holidays coming up too. Love it. 😀

    (love the pic of you two!)

  2. I LOVE fall too. It’s always been my favourite. It feels like the air is cleaner in the fall, I swear. The only thing I wish is that fall have days as long as the summer.

  3. allieksmith says:

    I love fall as well! It is so cozy 🙂

  4. You were close to talking me out of saying my favorite season is summer (just kidding). Where I live, the summers are dry which makes a huge difference in enjoying the heat. My cousins in Alabama always roll their eyes at me when I beg summer not to be over. They’re so tired of sufficating!

    BUT, fall is definitely second best in my book for all the reasons you mentioned. It makes me think of cinnamon and nutmeg and pumpkin and cozy sweaters and boots (!!). There’s something about fall that seems to make life slow down a little, isn’t there?

  5. livvy30 says:

    I totally agree-autumn is the BEST season! I think it’s because my birthday is in September, so it always meant a party and presents. I can’t take holidays from work during the summer, so I’m looking forward to a few days in Spain in two weeks’ time for my friend’s wedding 🙂

  6. Crissy says:

    Wow! I wish I’ll able to experience the beauty of fall and autumn. How I wish? It seems New England is one of the best places in America. Hope to see for real!:)

  7. sarahnsh says:

    Your first picture of your food got me hungry for some BBQ and some corn! I love fall too, with the cool weather and the beautiful colors. Spring is a favorite of mine too, but that’s when my birthday is. 😉 I hope you guys have a wonderful time on your trip and enjoy every moment you have off of work.

  8. Megan says:

    Fall is not my favorite as summer is, but it comes in at a close second. I love sweater and jeans weather… pulling my boots out of the closet and the crisp cool air blowing the beautifully colored leaves. 🙂 ENJOY your vacation!!!

Leave a Reply

