Why I Hate Dieting… and why I’ll never do it again

The good news is that so far, all of the tests my doctor has run on me have come back fine, so a lot of scary things that could possibly cause nausea and stomach cramping have been ruled out.  And honestly, I am feeling a ton better than I did over two months ago when I first became sick.

I’ve also gained my weight back… which is a good thing.

Mostly.

See, at the beginning of all this, I had lost six pounds in only a week, which was a weight-loss that made my doctor nervous.  And so, to find out if I was losing weight due to the illness or just because I didn’t feel like eating, I forced myself to eat more regular and normal.

And much to my happiness, it worked.

But I had not taken one very important fact into account…  I had been fitted for my beautiful, oh-so-perfect maid-of-honor dress just after I lost those six pounds.

And now I was back to my normal weight.  Which meant the dress no longer fit.  And I discovered this two days ago.

The wedding is Friday.

Yes, my cat’s worried face says it all.

Okay, okay, so I suppose I shouldn’t be too overly dramatic here.  The dress still really did fit.  But I couldn’t exactly breathe while wearing it.  And trust me, breathing really isn’t over-rated at all.  Especially when you plan on dancing… and eating… and giving a toast in front of a hundred and fifty people.

Slight problem.

And so, for the past few days, I have been on a diet of fruit, roasted veggies, salad, and wheat pasta.  Nothing but very simple foods, exercise, and water.  And honestly, this wouldn’t have been so hard had my hubby not made an amazing pot of macaroni and cheese the other night. I could smell the cheesey-garlic sauce, while munching on my apple slices.

So not fair.

Anyway, I realized, once and for all, why I don’t believe in dieting.  First of all, it leaves you hungry.  And once you know you can’t have anything, you want it more than anything else.

Today, someone at work was eating fried chicken.  The tantalizing aroma made me want to run through the office, yelling like a wild woman.

Normally, I’d just think, “Hmmm, that smells good” and then go on with my day.  But today, I wanted to throw myself onto the person, only to run away waving their chicken leg in triumph.

Because I knew I couldn’t have it, I wanted it.  Badly.

Thankfully, tomorrow is my last day of this crazy diet.  And as of tonight, the dress fits much more comfortably.  So I think the disaster has been averted.

And I can tell you, that I will never again go on a diet.  Because, wow, it’s rough… and so not worth it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Why I Hate Dieting… and why I’ll never do it again

  1. Maxim says:

    No offense, but I’m so glad I’m a guy ad food will never be my enemy.

  2. You’re so positive about it! I would have been bawling if my dress didn’t fit.

  3. That’s dedictation, I couldn’t survive on that diet!

  4. dieting sucks! i’m sure you’ll look fantastic in the wedding 🙂

  5. sarahnsh says:

    I know what you mean by someone cooking something and it just smelling like the best thing ever… and you totally want to steal it from them in a battle for the food. I hate when something doesn’t fit too, it drives me crazy, but you adverted the crisis and can go back to eating normal soon enough too.

  6. livvy30 says:

    Well done you! That’ll be my week next week. I’ve a wedding on 10th and another on 16th in Spain involving lots of food! Having been sick the last 2 weeks, I have comfort eaten and done no exercise. Eeek!

  7. I could never diet, even if my life depended on it. I realized this today, when I forgot to bring my snack with me when I went blueberry picking with Pepere. I was ready to eat my arm off and it had only been 4 hours since I had eaten my (very large) breakfast. Dieting and me just don’t mix. 😉

    The dress is lovely and you’re going to look stunning! Can’t wait for the wedding. 😀

  8. allieksmith says:

    Ahh! I hope you get to eat all kinds of yummy foods soon 🙂 When I swam competitively we had to eat really “clean” before our last big meet and I all I could ever think about was cheese and ice cream hahaha

  9. Wow…that is dedication…I’d have given in! I’m sure you will look beautiful!!

  10. dieting is good as long as you don’t have mental fights with yourself over it daily…cause that’s not healthy. I think clean eating for a couple of days is fine! I need to do that though. 😦

Leave a Reply

