Sanity Lost

Every September, I disappear.

And it’s not just for my sake.  It’s for the good of everyone around me.

You probably would think I exaggerate should I compare myself to a werewolf on the eve of a full moon.  But you haven’t talked to my husband who lives with me.

And all I can ask is that you please pray for him.  (For his patience and maybe even for his safety).  😉

It’s Fiscal Year End at work.  And since I’m in the Accounts Receivable department, it means I have to make my goal and bring in the money.  The time is now.  The countdown has begun.  Every second counts so you have to work twice as fast and twice as hard.

And because of it, I’m as frazzled as my cat’s hair is frizzy.

It is around this time of year that I put the two computer monitors on my office desk to good use –working on several computer programs at a time, typing notes, submitting emails… all while talking on the phone with customers.

And because of it, my friends know that I can’t hang out.  My church knows that I won’t volunteer as much.  And my husband knows that we’ll be living off of frozen fish sticks and french fries.

It is around this time of year that all sanity becomes lost.  And the more I focus on my lost sanity and all the crazy things I’m doing, the worse it gets.

Just the other day, I dialed a customer’s telephone number and was prompted to type in their extension.  But instead of punching in the numbers into my phone, I typed the number into a calculator sitting nearby.  And then I stared at it in confusion when the number didn’t dial.

Like I said, lost sanity.

And it’s a struggle for me not to take my work home.  To take a deep breath and leave it all behind me when I step into my house at the end of the day.  Because it all seems so huge.  So over-whelming.

Like I want to stomp my feet and pound my fists in a good old-fashioned temper tantrum.

But before you begin to get too worried or decide to call Dr. Phil with an idea for an upcoming episode on female breakdowns, I think I may have found my sanity tonight.

It was sitting on a park bench in the forest.  Cuddled safely in the arms of my best friend.  Surrounded by a sweet, powerful prayer.

And it’s funny but surviving one more week of Year End at work doesn’t seem so bad anymore.

Sorry, Dr. Phil.  You’ll have to find another idea for your show.  I’m actually gonna be okay.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sanity Lost

  1. Meg says:

    Yikes! Sounds like you’ve got a lot on your plate so here’s to the quick passing of September! I hope that you are able to get everything done without TOO much stress and maybe a shred of your sanity left. And that you get to do something really enjoyable and relaxing once it’s all done. Good luck girl! You’ll be in my thoughts!

  2. Allie says:

    Aww I am so sorry about the stress! I hope you make it out alive 🙂 I love the picture hehe

  3. sarahnsh says:

    Glad to see you back, though I’m sorry work has been so nuts for you lately! Just be sure to take those rare downtime you have and try to recharge yourself to meet the craziness again. I love the picture you posted too, so cute.

  4. As a fellow accountant, I just LOL’d at the thought of you typing the phone extension into the calculator. That is AWESOME. You’ll get through it!!! Keep the coffee flowing 🙂

  5. We can all relate to those crazy times of lost sanity. I am happy for you that you have the support that you need to get through it. September is almost over!!! Thanks for sharing and best of luck.

  6. Wow busy bee but I like how you found your peace. Lovely!

  7. That sounds so stressful!! Glad you can steal a few moments of peace!

  8. justmarriedgirl says:

    So glad you were able to center yourself in all the craziness! Remember: it will pass! Hope the madness goes by very quickly 🙂

  9. Love that in the midst of the storm you have at work…you were able to find that moment where all can be well. And those moments make those weeks of stress at work worth living. Good luck finishing up the week. I know you can do it! Take care!

  10. Hang in there!! One more week and vacation will be here!

    And I’ve never seen a cat’s fur frizz quite like Stitchy…haha. Cutie patootie. :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

