Easy-Peasy Blueberry Pancakes

If you’ve read my blog for any extended period of time, you’ll remember my previous segment entitled ‘Pancake of the Month.’

It is just as it sounds.

I’m a girl who adores fluffy pancakes, topped with sweet syrup and the guilt-free pleasure of eating dessert for breakfast.  Or, most often in my case, for dinner.

Therefore, it only made sense to at least make pancakes once a month. And to try as many flavors as possible.  Because, after all, we only live but once.  🙂

So when I realized that deleting the majority of my previous recipes had left my recipe page sadly empty (thanks to my decision to reorganize them), I decided that there was no shame in bringing back some old favorites and making them again.

And why not start with pancakes?  Why not bring back pancake of the month?  And why not start over so that I can make sure each and every recipe finds its way onto my cooking page?

(And why not try each and every flavor again)?  😉

So I’m starting with the basics here.  The pancake classic which is blueberry pancakes.

This recipe is the most basic, simple pancake recipe you will ever find.  (Other than pouring pancake powder out of a box, which — I promise — just doesn’t taste as good).

You can simply skip the blueberries altogether and serve them as plain pancakes.  But I personally think that the berry explosion with each bite helps to make this extra special.

There’s nothing fancy, flashy, or out-of-this-world amazing about this simple recipe.  But the pancakes are fluffy.  They soak up the syrup and fill up the belly.  And they’re super fast to whip together, making them ideal for late-night snacks or even for family vacations.

In fact, boxes of pancake mix have never entered my home.  This recipe is a staple in my kitchen and is so easy that even my hubby has no fear of whipping it together.

They’re easy-peasy.  But with each bite, a six-year-old-version of myself comes back and thinks, “they’re still yummy scrumptious”.  🙂

Easy Peasy Blueberry Pancakes

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 beaten egg

1 cup milk

2 tablespoons cooking oil

1 cup blueberries (if using frozen, rinse briefly with warm water to help frost slightly)

1.  In a medium bowl, stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  In another medium bowl, mix the egg, milk, and cooking oil.  Add egg mixture all at once to the dry mixture and stir just until moistened.  (Batter will be lumpy).

2.  Pour about 1/4 cup batter onto a hot, greased skillet and cook over medium heat for 2 minutes on each side.  (You’ll know to turn them when you see a lot of bubbles in the batter before you flip them).  Serve warm.  (Makes about 8 4-inch pancakes).

Enjoy!!

So, what’s your favorite pancake flavor?  And which pancake flavor would you like me to try making next??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Easy-Peasy Blueberry Pancakes

  1. I am in LOVE with pancakes. I already told mom that she needs to make me chocolate chip pancakes on the morning of my birthday. Who cares that I’m in my twenties? 😉

    I’d have to say my favorite is anything with chocolate…lol. Or pumpkin (with chocolate chips.) Or banana (with…yeah, you guessed it.) I think you should try making cinnamon raisin pancakes sometime. I was thinking of that the other day, and how good it be would to have plump, juicy raisins mixed with maple syrup, with swirls of cinnamon mixed in. 😀

  2. Allie says:

    Mmmmm, LOVE pancakes!!!!!

  3. Hmm….what a great post! I was doing Waffle Wednesdays a whole lot…until I realized how much work they require before work. Now, I’m thinking of doing what you are….going back to basics! How about pumpkin pie pancakes? Apple cinnamon? Oatmeal and walnut? Brown sugar and bacon? Okay, I’ll be quiet now…that was my 2 cents! =)

    Take care! Brooke

  4. jelillie says:

    I like chocolate chip banana pancakes!

  5. sarahnsh says:

    Yum! They look very tasty indeed. I agree with Sarah that my favorites are with chocolate, or pumpkin is quite good too, or peanut butter, but I don’t think that would go too well with pancakes, would it? Anyways, I’ll have to give this recipe to my fiancee, he’s the cook, I can only heat things up. 😉

  6. I truly love all kinds of pancakes, but nothing beats pumpkin chocolate chip pancakes 🙂 Although blueberry sounds amazing too. I haven’t had them in a while!

Leave a Reply

