October 2011 Vacay — Day 1

My vacation officially began yesterday morning with a trip to Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s with my sister Sarah (a.k.a. the author of The Flying Onion).   After all, the hubby had to work, and the last thing I wanted to do was putter around the house all morning, waiting for the seconds to pass so that we could leave for New Hampshire’s White Mountains.

That and I didn’t feel like cleaning my house.  😉

It was a raw day, apparently setting the rainy, chilly weather pattern that is trying to settle over New England just in time for my vacation.  Today it’s been raining heavy nonstop, so the mountains are hiding behind the thick white clouds.  But Nate and I happen to like rainy days, so it was all good.  🙂

Our morning started at The Stix breakfast restaurant, where I ordered a spinach and smoked gouda omelet, served with home-fries and raisin toast.

Best. Omelet.  Ever.    Hands down.  I’ve never had an omelet with so much flavor.  (Well, except for maybe the last time I ate at Stix). Ha, ha. LOVE that restaurant

Once we ate our fill, we headed to a visitor’s center for flyers, in case we’ll need some more rainy-day options.

If you can’t tell, the expression on my face here says, “Oooh, I found something fun to do!”   It may or may not be a flier for the world’s largest candy counter.  Really, it’s like a historical location, and I imagine that visiting it would be like becoming a part of that history.

It’s a good thing that I married a guy who loves history… and candy!  🙂

From there, we did our grocery shopping, since the cabin we’re staying at has a kitchen.  We bought the essentials, and — of course — added a few goodies, since we’re on vacation.  And what’s a vacation without yummy snacks?

Have you seen this yet?

It’s pumpkin spice bread from Pepperidge Farm.  I’ve seen it on several blogs now and have been eager to try it since I’m in love with Pepperidge Farm raisin bread.  So, obviously, I had to buy some to go with tomorrow’s breakfast!

Obviously!

Well, Nate and I knew that going on a hike today was out of the question (unless we felt like torturing ourselves in the cold, wet rain… which we didn’t).  I mean, as it is, we’ve run out into the rain so much today, we’re bound to start looking like plump prunes pretty soon.

So we went to the rec center and ran a couple of miles on the treadmill before cooling off in the pool… and then chillaxin’ in the hot tub.

Definitely VERY refreshing!

Now Nate is making mac’n cheese for dinner, and I have some raw chocolate chip cookie dough in the fridge just waiting to be put in the oven.  It’ll be a relaxing rest of the day, since we’re going to watch the Patriots football game and then do some reading.

Hmmm, I LOVE vacation!!  🙂

(Like the flannel shirts I found at Target?  We totally look like a farmer couple.  Ha, ha.  I love it!).

How was your weekend?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to October 2011 Vacay — Day 1

  1. Allie says:

    What a fun day:) I had no idea PF made pumpkin bread!!!

  2. I am loving the flannel.. perfect time of the year to bust it out 🙂

  3. Thanks for your comment on my blog, Nicole! I love relaxing, rainy days–they make me happy! I’ve seen the pumpkin spice bread, but haven’t bought it yet…might have to get some tomorrow at the grocery store 🙂

  4. Awwwww what a fun day!

    Who ever feels like cleaning the house anyways? I would if it were a game that I could score points for. If they ever made a fitocracy for cleaning the house – I’d be all over that!

  5. Katie says:

    Haha, love the plaid shirts. AND so glad you’re having a good vacation!

  6. Tara says:

    Ooh I love vacations!! I could use one right about now. Fall is a great time for travel! I haven’t seen or heard of that pumpkin spice bread. You know I’ll be on the lookout for that now!! That would taste soooo good with cream cheese!

  7. pumpkin spice bread?!?! my mouth is drooling just thinking about it! and it looks like you had fun on your vacation 🙂

  8. sarahnsh says:

    Mmmm, that Pumpkin Spice bread looks totally delish! I gotta look for that in the stores around here, I just love pumpkin spice anything. Looks like you had yourself a great day, so glad you had fun and yummy food too!

  9. Pumpkin spice bread? Yum! I need some of that in my life. 😀

    And I love the flannel shirts! And the fact that you guys went to the rec center to bust out some miles on the treadmill while you’re on vacation? Now THAT is dedication! 😀

    HAVE FUN! Lovin’ the pics! 😀

  10. Looks like you had a great day! 🙂
    My weekend was great to 🙂

  11. dottylizzy says:

    it looks like you’re all set for a fantastic vacation!! I hope you have lots of fun spending time together and relaxing!! 🙂
    Oh, and the flannel shirts are cute!! 😉

Leave a Reply

