October 2011 Vacay – Day 2

First of all, happy anniversary to my hubby!!!!  I can’t believe it’s been three years already.  I LOVE you so much and I can’t wait to share more adventures with you!

Well, Nate and I woke up yesterday morning and listened…. to silence.  (Well, silence other than a loud owl that was calling “Who, Who” right outside the window).  😉  But there was no rain pitter-pattering against the roof and windows!!!

Score!

So even though many of the mountains were still hiding behind the fog and clouds, we were able to see views like this on our drive out to North Conway.

Beautiful, right?

I’ve actually been to the White Mountains more times than I can remember now, but I’m still in awe every time I go.  Which means I still want to stop at pretty much every scenic point, so that I can snap a few pictures.

Nate was pretty good about pulling off the main road, whenever I begged him to…

…  but he thought that my blog photo’s needed some humor. Hence the staged photo below.  What can I say?  I married a real comedian.  😉

Anyway, back to North Conway…    Ha, ha.

If you’ve never been, it really is the epitome of autumn in New England.

There’s a train station (with train rides), a country store, whimsical shops,  restaurants, sidewalks covered in fallen leaves, white picket fences, and a cupcake store (which happened to be closed on Mondays. Yeah, I’m still bitter, because Nate had said he’d buy me one).

So to make me feel better, Nate took me to the five and dime store to try on hats…  Yeah, I have no shame.

By the end of the afternoon, Nate had tried his first ever pumpkin latte from Starbucks and loved it (despite the hesitant look on his face during his first sip)… and I had started my Christmas shopping.

So, really, it was a successful day.

Even without the cupcake.  Which I really, really wanted.  Because I’ve never gone to a cupcake store and actually bought one.

To finish up the day, we went to see Abduction in theaters, which was entertaining at times but that’s about it.

Still, we had a good time… because we were together.  And not at work.  And on vacation.   With or without cupcakes.

Okay, I’m done.  😉

Dinner after the movie was Chinese food, which my hubby has been looking forward to all summer.

It was really good, although I think I’ve had my fill of Chinese food until New Year’s Eve now. 🙂  (And I want to know why more restaurants don’t serve hot tea with dinner. LOVE tea!!).

So, yes, it was a great second day of vacay.  We did a ton of laughing… and talking… and just relaxed and watched the beautiful scenery pass by as we drove.

Can’t wait to see what comes next!

I LOVE the White Mountains… and I most definitely love my hubby!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to October 2011 Vacay – Day 2

  1. jelillie says:

    I really hope you bought the moose hat. It’s the perfect accessory for a church outfit! 🙂

  2. I’ve been to North Conway! Small world.

  3. Homestead Ramblings says:

    Okay girl, time to put away the computer, phone, whatever, and RELAX. You can fill us in on your vacation when you get home. Just spend this precious time soaking up every minute of it’s damp splendor. Praying for sunshine.

  4. livvy30 says:

    I am jealous! Enjoy!!!

  5. Happy Anniversary!!
    I agree the White Mountains has gorgeous fall foliage!!!!!!

  6. Awesome pics! I love that one with Nate in the background behind the leaves. And I LOVE, love, love your sweater. You look so New Englandy, it makes me excited for fall all over again. 😀

    Keep having FUN!

  7. sarahnsh says:

    Ooooh, I totally feel for you with the cupcake shop being closed! There’s this place me and my mom go to and this cupcake shop we love, it’s sooo good, and every time we go there it’s closed and I feel like it puts a real damper on things because their black bottom cupcake is to die for. It looks like you had such a great time even without the missing cupcake in the day! 😉

  8. The place looks lovely, my kind of town. I feel your pain about missing the cupcakes! Enjoy the rest of your trip!

  9. Mac says:

    Happy anniversary! Looks like a super fun day!

  10. Bummer about the cupcakes! I would have been bummed for the entire day!!

Leave a Reply

