Souper Sundays: Split Pea Soup

It was a chilly day…

Cloudy.  Slightly windy.  The smell of rain was in the air (if you are one of those talented people who can actually smell rain).

And most definitely one of those days that makes you want to curl up in the living room with a good book and a cup of your favorite tea.

It was a little teaser to remind us New Englanders that colder weather is coming.  That Autumn won’t last forever and that a greater chill is just down the road.

But with that chill, I reminded myself, comes the excuse to whip out my favorite baking pan and soup pot.  An excuse to serve steaming bowls of stew and sweet, spicy slices of pumpkin bread.

And when you think of it in those terms, a chilly, dreary day doesn’t seem so — well —  dreary.  It actually might even seem a little delicious.

If you’re having a bit of rain or chilly weather where you are, then I highly recommend making a large batch of Split Pea Soup.

Smooth.  Thick.  Savory.  It’s comfort in a bowl and just what a cold day calls for.

Split Pea Soup

2 cups dry split peas

4 (14 1/2 oz  each) cans chicken broth

2 cups water

2 bay leaves

1/2 teaspoon dried thyme

1/2 teaspoon pepper

2 cups chopped carrots

2 cups chopped, peeled potatoes

1 cup chopped, fully cooked ham (you can use lower-sodium varieties)

1 cup chopped onion

1.  Rinse peas; drain.  In a large saucepan, stir together peas, chicken broth, water, bay leaf, thyme, and pepper.  Bring to a boiling and reduce heat.  Cover and simmer for about 1 hour, stirring occasionally.

2.  Stir in veggies and ham.  Return to boiling and reduce heat.  Cover and simmer about 20 minutes or until veggies are tender.  Discard bay leaf.

Makes 5-6 servings.

*As found on Better Homes and Gardens, with just a few tweaks*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Souper Sundays: Split Pea Soup

  1. I *love* split pea soup. I always make it as thick as possible and serve it with crusty bread for dunking. So delicious. 😀

    Love the autumn picture! 😀

  2. allieksmith says:

    Split pea is one of my favorites! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  3. Caitlyn says:

    That does sound like perfect weather for cooking, or simply curling up with a good book! I’ve only ever made split pea soup once and wasn’t a fan. I think it was my recipe 🙂 I’m sure this recipe will turn out a bit better than what i used before!

    I’m glad you’re starting to feel better!

  4. sarahnsh says:

    I think split pea soup is that type of soup that people either love or hate it. Me, personally, I really enjoy it. But, other people really seem to stick up their noses at it. I’ll have to have my fiance try to whip this out, I’m dangerous in the kitchen!

    • Nicole says:

      I totally agree! (To people either loving or hating split pea soup…. not to you being dangerous in the kitchen. Ha, ha). I used to hate it as a kid, but I think it was the color that turned me away. 🙂

  5. looks and sounds yummy. here in Canada, we call it French Pea Soup because of course, the French invented it. hee hee.

Leave a Reply

