How’s Your Bread Sliced?

I mentioned once before that Nate and I had our first fight as husband and wife over a seemingly innocent trip to the grocery store.

I’m happy to report that we can now fill up a shopping cart without pulling out the boxing gloves.  It’s quite the accomplishment, I have to say.  There we are, walking through the aisles as though we don’t have a care in the world.  As though we have this married thing down and completely figured out.

I — list in hand — lead the way as Nate dutifully follows behind with the cart.  He doesn’t argue when I grab all-natural chicken sausages.  I pretend to not notice that he grabbed a bag of cookies.

We give a little and take a little.  Compromise.  And once you get the hang of it, it really is pretty easy.

But today I discovered that we have a little ways to go…

Then again, it was a very serious decision.  Extremely important.  After all, choosing which bread to go with dinner is no laughing matter.

Nate wanted the pre-sliced Italian bread from the bakery.  I wanted the unsliced Italian bread from the bakery, so that I could cut my own chunks of doughey goodness.

Our ‘argument’ went something like this…

Me:  But your bread is sliced too thin.

Nate:  Exactly!  That’s how bread is supposed to be sliced.

Me:  That’s so not true.

Nate:  If we get the unsliced kind, then you’ll cut the slices too big.

Me:  You sound just like my dad!  He used to tell my mom that she sliced the bread too thick too.

Nate:  Well, you do slice the bread too thick.

Me:  But look at how thin those slices are!  I’d have to eat like three slices of your bread to get the same amount of bread as one of my slices…

Nate:  So eat three slices.

Me:  No, that would make me look like a pig!

And for the record, that point made perfect sense to me.

But then again, I suppose it is this kind of lengthy discussion that makes our grocery trips so interesting… and long.  😉

Which brings me to another lesson I’ve learned about marriage.  Sometimes, you just have to laugh, give each other a hug, and then go with the unsliced bread… so that next week, it’ll be your turn to pick out the bread.  🙂

So, do you prefer your Italian bread sliced thick or thin? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How’s Your Bread Sliced?

  1. Haha love this debate. I think the thicked slice sounds better, just right for dipping! Thin is best for toast 🙂

  2. Caitlyn says:

    Thick sliced, for sure! I would have it no other way 🙂

  3. LOL your fights are so innocent! i pull glenn’s hair out!

  4. Thick! Absolutely.

    I think I would have bought both loaves and froze half of each so that he could get the thin and I could get the thick. There’s just no messing around when it comes to things like bread…haha. 😉

  5. I like a nice, thick, buttery slice of bread any day 🙂

  6. Oh wow…this sounds like me and 1-2 for sure! We bicker over things like that…and for sure its just best to laugh, hug it out, and rotate who picks what one week 🙂

    Glad you are feeling better girl! I know its rough dealing with that. I’m praying for a speedy recovery for you!

  7. Thick! Always thick 🙂 I’m not a huge bread fan, to be honest, but I hate thin little slices!

  8. Rena Nichole says:

    Medium. I don’t like it so big that I can’t bite it comfortably, but I don’t like it so thin that if I spread cold butter on it I can rip holes in it. LOL

Leave a Reply

