Spicy-Citrus Roasted Chicken

I had roasted a chicken once before in my life…

And I burnt it.

In all honesty, I know what went wrong.  I kind of got busy doing other things and ignored a little beeping that came from the direction of the oven.  Apparently, heeding your timer’s call is a very important part of serving a cooked chicken that’s edible.

And maybe it wouldn’t have been so bad had I been able to turn the pan juices into a thick, savory gravy.  But there wasn’t one drop of pan juice left.  So therefore, there was no gravy.

In the end, Nate and I chewed our way through the dry meat, drinking plenty of water so that we didn’t choke.  Or gag. And let’s just put it kindly and say that I wasn’t a happy camper that night.

This time, I decided to get some help from the master herself:  Martha Stewart.

It also didn’t hurt that I found the most adorable, little chicken to bring home.  Nate reminded me that I was going to eat it and to not get attached.  I told him to stop being so mean to Ferdinand the chicken and to pick on someone his own size.

And you know what?

Between the help of Martha and Ferdinand, I ended up with a juicy, flavorful roasted chicken that was almost pretty enough to be featured in a magazine.  Or at least a blog.

Well, this blog anyway.

Looking for an easy, roast dinner recipe?  This received two thumbs up from me!  🙂  It’s SO incredibly simple to prepare and the end result is a juicy chicken with a hint of citrus and spice.  It was the perfect amount for me and the hubby… and there were even left-overs.

Spice Roasted Chicken — from Martha Stewart (perfect for 2!)

(Click on the title of this recipe to be taken directly to Martha Stewart.com for the original recipe)

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground coriander

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1 whole chicken (3 1/2 to 4 pounds), rinsed and patted dry

Coarse salt and ground pepper

2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled, halved crosswise, and cut into  1/2-inch wedges

2 medium carrots, cut into 2-inch pieces

1 orange, unpeeled, cut into 8 wedges

Directions

  Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

In a small bowl, combine spices. Season chicken with salt and pepper, then rub all over with spice mixture. Place in a large Dutch oven or heavy pot with a tight-fitting lid. Arrange vegetables and orange wedges around chicken and add  1/2 cup water. (I also sprinkled everything lightly with salt at this point).  Cover and roast 30 minutes.

Remove lid and roast until skin is golden brown and juices run clear when chicken is pierced between breast and leg (an instant-read thermometer inserted in thickest part of a thigh, avoiding bone, should read 165 degrees), 30 minutes. Let rest 10 minutes before carving. Serve with vegetables and orange wedges.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spicy-Citrus Roasted Chicken

  1. Caitlyn says:

    Ferdinand looks absolutely wonderful! I’m sure he was delicious! My first and only roast chicken was named Oliver. He was a tropper and turned out great as well 🙂

  2. This sounds great! I can’t say I’ve ever cooked a whole chicken before (I usually hand it over to dad and ask him to make a beer can chicken which is also no fail, it seems!) Maybe this should be my first recipe to use!! Yum! 😀

  3. allieksmith says:

    Awww, the chicken looks so perfect!! Great recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

