‘Tis the Season

In just a matter of days, the holiday season really begins.  The traditions that I love so much will come to life, taking on their own, unique 2011 twist.  But they’ll still be familiar.  They always are.

Like a comforting hug or a warm fuzzy sweater, they can always be counted on.

Sarah and I will make our gingerbread men, consuming unhealthy amounts of frosting, chocolate chips, raisins, and cookie dough until we’re bursting with unexplained laughter from the sugar high.

There will be Thanksgiving turkey at Mom and Dad’s and pumpkin pie at the in-law’s.  And then we’ll wake up too early the next day, toss on a fuzzy hat and some comfy clothes, and brave out into the cold to find some out-of-this-world bargains.

And then soon, Nate and I — sipping on steaming hot chocolate — will stroll through the parks of Boston to view the Christmas lights.  We’ll buy our Hallmark Christmas ornament and then put up the tree.  The garland.  The lights in the windows.

I’ll wrap presents in bright red and green paper, all while being serenaded by Nat King Cole.

There will be parties.  And caroling.  And a special, candle-lit service at church.

There will be Christmas morning.

It’s all coming.  It’s all just around the corner.  And I just can’t wait.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ‘Tis the Season

  1. jelillie says:

    Love the imagery Nicole. My Christmas this year will be different than any I have ever experienced. I will make it simple and traditional. I am looking for what God will do in this season and I am so glad there is Christmas Sunday service!

  2. Caitlyn says:

    I can’t wait either! Bring on the season!!

  3. livvy30 says:

    I-can-not-wait!!!!

  4. sarahnsh says:

    Sounds like some great traditions you have going on, I like the eating tons of sugary stuff the best. 😀

  5. Ahh, love this post so much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

