Thanksgiving 2011

Nate and I were talking the other day about how my mom is one of the kindest, most gracious hosts into whose home we have been invited. 

I suppose this makes it official, since Nate married into the family and doesn’t have to express such opinions.  Like he could actually not like us, if he so chose.

.

HA, HA.  That’s funny.  Nate not like us.

I crack myself up sometimes!!

But in all honesty, he too feels the warmth and welcome that is my mom’s kitchen.

Then again, what’s not to love when she greets you like this?

Just walking up the driveway, smelling that tantalizing aroma, we were under her spell.

Hi, would you like to try my famously, juicy turkey that I just pulled out of the oven? 

YAY!

And then would you like to help with that mountain of dishes in the corner of the kitchen?

Excited cheers.

Yes, PLEASE, sign us up!!

I kid!!  🙂

After all the work my mom, dad, and sister did to make Thanksgiving perfect, Nate and I were more than happy to help with clean-up.  (Although I’m still trying to convince Mom that paper plates are okay to use on Thanksgiving…)  😉

On the other hand, I can’t argue much when Mom and my sister put together a spread like this.

It is breathtakingly beautiful.

And I guess it is kind of fun hovering around the sink as Dad washes dish after dish, while my siblings and I dry.

Wow, mom really is good.

It makes me wonder if her skills have passed down to me.  And if so, would it take one or two perfectly baked turkeys to get Nate to paint all the rooms in our house?  😉

Thanksgiving.  It all comes down to being together.  Simplicity.  Amazing food.  Laughter.

Hmmm, I love this holiday.  I love my family.  Sometimes, I just feel like the happiest girl ever!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thanksgiving 2011

  1. Sarah says:

    The turkey was delicious. The dishes were scary…haha. 😀

  2. allieksmith says:

    I feel the love in this post! I adore the picture of your mom with the turkey, too sweet! Thanksgiving IS such a great holiday!

  3. I love this post,it conveys so much love… Amazing!

  4. justmarriedgirl says:

    This is sweet. It looks like it was a wonderful, delicious and perfect holiday!

  5. sarahnsh says:

    I think it’s in your genetics to be a great cook from all the pictures of your food you’ve posted on here. Looks like Thanksgiving was fabulous and delish!

Leave a Reply

