Giving Thanks, even when cheesecakes fly and knees hurt

It was the night before Thanksgiving, and my sister had just arrived at my house to help decorate gingerbread men.

As she stepped into the kitchen and took off her coat, I busied myself with removing a chocolate chip cheesecake from the oven.  But as I turned to say something to her, my potholders slipped.  And so instead of carefully placing the cheesecake down, I threw it across the table.

When it finally did land with a loud ‘BANG’, the middle of the cheesecake — as if in slow-motion — slurped over the edge of the pan like a tidal wave of sweet, chocolate cream.

And I wanted to cry.  But really, that would only have made my eyes puffy.  So I stayed up late to bake another cheesecake.

Then again, that was nothing compared to what happened on Thanksgiving morning.

I popped my knee out again, thanks to an old injury flaring its ugly head, and I possibly sprained a tendon in the process.  Let’s just say that instead of running three miles at the gym now, I’m lucky if  I can walk one.

And in that moment, as I gritted my teeth through the intense pain and knew that I had really injured myself, I wanted to scream, “It’s not fair!”

All I had wanted was to bake a nice dessert to share on Thanksgiving.  All I had wanted was to look pretty in my holiday outfit… not to hobble around like Quasimodo.  (Trust me, I’ve got the Quasimodo hobble down).

And sure, I had to go through the quick tantrum that I think anyone might experience, should they again injure their knee just as they joined a gym membership.  (It’s like I’m not meant to work out or something).  😉

But in the end, I knew that I have nothing to complain about.

There are so many frustrations that we experience in our lives.  And it’s SO easy to look at what we don’t have or what we can’t do.  But the thing is that we really do have so much to be thankful for.

Nate and I are buying our Christmas tree next week.  We had a lazy night last night after church and watched TV together.  We fell asleep in a warm bed and woke up to a hearty breakfast.  Right now, I’m sitting in my dining room and watching the sun rise.

So much happiness and beauty around me.  So many things I still can do and experience, even with a knee injury.

Honestly, if I can’t be thankful for all the many things I do have then I definitely need to get my priorities straight.  🙂

So my goal for today is most definitely to focus on the things I can do and the things I do have… even when I’m hobbling into work, walking just a bit like Quasimodo.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Giving Thanks, even when cheesecakes fly and knees hurt

  1. Rob Rubin says:

    Poor cheesecake! I hope it was OK. Oh, and your knee too. 😉

    Rob, The Mainland

  2. Sarah says:

    THANK YOU for this post. It couldn’t have been more timely for me (job related…blah.)

    I admire your attitude. Keep it up!! 😀

  3. Catherine says:

    How sweet! I’m sorry you’re hurt though! When I still lived at home, I baked this dish that my family still refers to as ‘broken bowl goulash’ because the first time I made it, I grabbed it from the oven with my bare hands! Needless to say, I dropped it and broke the container and blistered my hands… I’m still not sure what I was thinking! Haha

  4. jelillie says:

    Oh my it sounds like God is raising you and your sister to a new level Nicole! Blessed be the name of the Lord!

  5. I gasped out loud when I read about the cheesecake. That must have really sucked. I`ve never had knee pain so I can`t sympathize there (although I`m sure it is not fun at all) but I have dropped shit and that can be pretty devastating.

    I had another dream about your cat, Hightower, last night. You probably think I`m a total creep for having dreams about your cat, but you have to know this because I think he (she?) is secretly a genius. In my dream we (me and Hightower) were at the library and he was reading a book. Keep an eye on your cat. And your books.

  6. sarahnsh says:

    It always seem to happen during a Holiday all of those little things that you just want to say, “Can’t this wait until the Holiday is over??” Be sure to take care of your knee, ice it, and don’t do anything crazy. I have bad knee problems genetically in my family so I feel your pain, so I hope you get to feeling better!

  7. livvy30 says:

    Between you and Sarah today you’re really putting things into perspective!

  8. Oh girl, I love how you look on the bright side. You really do love the simple moments of life and you are inspiring. 🙂

  9. i wish you posted a pic of that horrid cheesecake.

Leave a Reply

