A Tree-Shopping We Will Go

My little, country town doesn’t have a movie theater.    There’s no supermarket.  And you have to drive twenty minutes to reach the nearest Starbucks.  (Shudder).

We do, however, have more Christmas trees than we know what to do with.

There are tree farms on every corner.  Every other car driving by our house has a tree strapped to its roof.  And I’m almost sure that I can smell pine the minute I drive across the town border.

Or maybe it’s my pine scented candle?  Those Yankee candles are pretty impressive…

Anyway, shopping for a Christmas tree is a New England tradition that was extremely important for my family.  We never once bought a fake tree.  We never once considered it.  And now that I moved back to this town with my hubby, I sure wouldn’t want to be the neighbor who was caught carrying a cardboard-wrapped, plastic tree into their home.

We’re not one of those people.  😉

(Let me add that my street takes Christmas decorating quite seriously, and there’s pretty much an unofficial lights-and-decorations contest going on. So far, our house is losing… But  only because I’m too cheap to buy more Christmas decorations until after-the-holiday sales).

Yes, Christmas tree farms…  They’re everywhere.

There’s a cute one about ten miles from our house.  There’s a farm about five miles in the opposite direction.  There’s also a Christmas tree farm a half a mile up the street.

And then there’s the farm across the street.

Nate and I have gone there since we moved here, because nothing says redneck country quite like buying your Christmas tree… and then carrying it home.

Now it’s time to decorate it with lights, bulbs, and candy canes.

Christmas in the country.  It’s so perfect, I almost don’t care that there isn’t a Starbucks nearby…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Tree-Shopping We Will Go

  1. Catherine says:

    I heard the phrase “next time I go to town…” the other day and immediately was transported back to my hometown in Tennessee. I’m in DC now and spent four years in Nashville, but my tiny town in rural East Tennessee will always be home. We were twenty five minutes from the nearest grocery store! And we never, ever had a fake tree. 🙂 I miss small towns!

  2. Sarah says:

    I love that you guys carry your Christmas tree home. That is such a fun tradition. 😀

  3. Wow it’s Xmas tree central where you are!

  4. We are those people. I can’t remember ever having a real tree. I bet the smell of pine in the house is amazing, but I like artificial trees because they last forever and I feel bad about cutting down a whole tree annually.

    If it’s redneck to carry your tree home then I don’t even know what to say about the time Matt and I found a couch on the side of the road and carried it the mile home.

  5. How fun! I’ve never had a live tree. My older sister is allergic to pine so we always had artificial tress growing up. Christopher and I have talked about getting live trees once we start having kids so maybe that will happen. 🙂

  6. sarahnsh says:

    I had a live tree years ago when I was younger and I remember loving the smell of pine with having it in the house. My fiancee has a fake tree, so we’ve been doing a fake tree, and my family generally has no tree year after year so it’s nice to have a tree to put the gifts under. Makes me feel official and festive. 😉

Leave a Reply

