Video Games Go Bye-Bye

We all know how guys are when it comes to video games.

Now I could be one of those bloggers who says that she and her hubby have the perfect relationship and that there are never any arguments or disagreements.  But that wouldn’t be very honest.  Nor would it make for an interesting read.

So, let’s be real, shall we?

Yes, we all know how guys are when it comes to video games…

It’s like a trance-like bubble forms over them and the only thing that can shake them is…  Well, I still don’t know.  Let me know if you find out.  I’m pretty much convinced that even a fire wouldn’t do the trick.

The joke between me and Nate for awhile was that he had tricked me.  When he and I were dating and first married, he couldn’t understand why guys spent so much time glued to their televisions or computers.  He said that it was a waste of time.

Then he bought his first video game…

The thing with Nate is that he rarely goes into anything half-heartedly.  And conquering video games was no exception.  He was addicted.  He had to play every spare moment (even moments that we could have been doing something together) in order to get to the next level.  The next big win.

The next game.

There were times that it caused a bit of a rift between us.  Like the time I didn’t make dinner and went shopping instead, because I told him that I had thought his video game could cook for him too.

(Yes, even sweet, little ol’ me can be sarcastic at times).  😉

Lately, however, he started to look a little upset whenever I mumbled about how much I hated video games.

And a weekend or two ago, he did something about it.  No, he didn’t yell.  He didn’t tell me to cool off or to quiet down so that he could shoot some more zombies.

No, he sold his video games.  Every single one of them. He also sold his player and all the guitar hero equipment.

Every last bit.

He said that he wants to spend more time with me.  To spend more time on things that matter.

When he told me this, I was beyond shocked.  And out-of-this-world proud.  I had never once suggested that he get rid of all the video game equipment.  I hadn’t thought that was even an option.  I know how much fun he has playing all those strategic games, so I even felt a little bit bad for him.

But his mind was made up.

And the next evening, when dinner-time rolled around and I prepped some veggies in the kitchen, he walked up to me, pulled me into a hug, and asked, “Can I help you make supper?”

So, yeah, we don’t have the perfect marriage.  But at times like this, I feel like we’re pretty near close… 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Video Games Go Bye-Bye

  1. slickmike says:

    Dude has heart…. I’ll say that. 🙂

  2. Homestead Ramblings says:

    Wow – he’s a keeper!

  3. Dawn says:

    Impressive! Have there been any alien sightings in your area 😉

  4. OMG. hahahahah buy him ONE game poor guy. He sure loves you though!! BTW at least he’s gaming and not looking up nasty things on the internets!

Leave a Reply

