All I Want for Christmas is…

So a couple of you asked about my new camera and what else I got for Christmas this year…

Well, I actually didn’t get the camera.

No, silly, I didn’t end up with coal!  🙂

Nate actually offered me money instead and said that he’ll help me save up for the nicer camera I had originally wanted.  Soooo, I decided to go with the delayed gratification and to continue saving.

Until then, my older camera does work fine… as long as the room is bright enough, people don’t move, and I hold perfectly-completely still.  😉

Even without the camera though, I did receive some pretty nice gifts…. like being able to spend time with my amazing family!

And my sister Sarah bought me these adorable soup and sandwich place settings (which I have been wanting since I first saw them in Crate and Barrel).

Can’t you just picture the steam rising out of the mugs as I fill them with thick Sweet Potato and Rosemary soup?  Sigh, I can almost smell it too…  Happiness on a plate.  That is what my sister gave me for Christmas.

My mom and dad gave me and Nate some money for the house, so we bought this boxed set which comes with picture frames and inspirational words.

They’ll hang on this wall if all goes well… and if Nate and I can figure out how to hang them in a straight, organized fashion.

With the rest of the money, we’ll buy a light for the kitchen, since ours — or its lack thereof — is not really setting the right mood.  Apparently, light bulbs hanging from your ceiling do not give off a sense of coziness.

Nate wasn’t supposed to buy me anything, but he gave me this cookbook (which I can’t wait to try)…

… and this movie, which I LOVE!!  (Movie review to come soon, as long as I can get myself to say anything other than, “Just watch it, because it’s SO good!”).

I also have to show you this framed picture of my Pepere L, which my dad gave me.  Wasn’t my Pepere quite the handsome gentleman?  He was a great man, my Pepere, and I think this photo captures exactly how I remember him.  Friendly and approachable, yet confident and determined.  Hard-working and always a family man.

(He was an amazing carpenter, by the way, and I’m pretty sure he’s building some mansions up there in heaven)!

And last but not least, my brother and his girlfriend gave me a beautiful, leather-bound journal.  On the front, it says:  Be the change you wish to see in the world.

That saying inspires me in ways I can’t really explain.  It’s like something stirs inside of me, and I really do want to be that change.  The change I want to see happen.

Although I suppose that’s another post for another day.  (Yes, I’m sure there will be some passionate writing going on in the next few weeks, as I open up my journal at the end of the day).  🙂

But until tomorrow…

What was your favorite Christmas gift this year?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All I Want for Christmas is…

  1. Sarah says:

    I love the journal! And the wall art, which will look AWESOME in your living room. 😀

  2. Allie says:

    Delayed gratification is the way to go! Very smart 🙂

    I hope you enjoy the cookbook too!

Leave a Reply

