Stepping into 2012

I heart lazy days…

It’s not that I’d want to spend my entire life reclining on a leather couch, cuddling two fuzzy cats, and watching mindless TV, but you have to admit that every once in awhile, it’s therapeutic.

Maybe that’s one of the reasons why I love New Year’s so much.  As exhaustion sets in during the Christmas holiday, I always know that there’s a lazy weekend just ahead waiting for me.  So it’s all okay, and I embrace the craziness.

Then New Year’s arrives and I let myself sink down into a lazy puddle of I-don’t-feel-like-doing-anything-so-I-won’t.

First though, is New Year’s Eve, which requires just enough energy to eat Chinese Food, drink sparkling apple cider, and play a game or two.  My parent’s host a ‘party’ at their house every New Year’s Eve, and it’s one of my favorite holiday traditions.

.

It’s simple.  Fun.  Of course, it’s delicious. And my parents, sister, and I have been doing it for years… and years… and years.

My husband Nate is still a newby to the tradition, but he enjoys it as much as the rest of us.  (Look at him here, posing all nice while my dad and I act like a couple of goof-balls behind him.  Don’t worry, he’ll get used to our silly antics sooner or later.  😉

It was definitely a great way to finish off 2011, and I’m really looking forward to a new year.  Now that my mini-vacay is over, I guess you could say that 2012 officially starts for me tomorrow…

Here we go!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stepping into 2012

  1. Sarah says:

    YAY! So glad you had a wonderful day off! We all need that now and then. 😀

    Happy New Year! 😀

  2. jelillie says:

    We played Apples to Apples, Bezzerwizzer and Scattergories. What did you play?

    • Nicole says:

      Ooh, I love Apples to Apples AND Scattergories! We played a game called The New Yorker… The players have to write captions for comics that actually appeared in the New York Times. It’s fun AND a writing exercise! HA, ha.

  3. I’m not big on going out for New Year’s. House parties are always the best way to celebrate (everything else just seems overpriced and overrated. Or maybe I’m just a new year’s Ebeneezer Scrooge)
    Matt and I hosted a Rock Band party at our house which was a lot of fun and we ended up staying awake until almost 3am! A few people had never played the game before so they loved it.

  4. Okay so this is random, but I absolutely love your top in that photo! And you and your dad are adorable – I love the silliness! 🙂 Glad your New Year went so well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

