Book Review: Hunger Games

The Plot:

Due to war and natural disaster, the world as we know it doesn’t exist.  North America is gone.  There are now only twelve districts, as the thirteenth district was destroyed when its people dared to rebel against the Capitol.

As a reminder to the remaining twelve districts that they can also be destroyed, the Capitol holds a contest every year.  Two children from each district are chosen at random to appear on a reality show.  A reality show in which they are forced into an outdoor arena where they must fight… to the death.

In the end, there will only be one winner.

The people in the districts struggle the elements for survival.  In Katniss Everdeen’s district, hunger is a normal part of life.  In order to obtain just a little bit more food for her mother and sister, she hunts in the nearby woods with her friend.  She also opts to allow her name to be placed into the random drawing several more times each year, because this means a bit more oil and food for her family.

It also means that she has a greater chance to be chosen.

But this year, it isn’t her name that is drawn.  It’s her sister’s.

In a desperate attempt to save her younger sister’s life, Katniss — a talented hunter — volunteers to go in her place.  It is this decision that whisks her away from her humble home and into a gladiator-like battle in an outdoor arena that can hold anything possible… including death and maybe even love.

**  My thoughts:

I have to say that I was sceptical when I first opened this book, because I haven’t been pulled into the other series that have become teen sensations.  But this one… This one was really good.

Honestly, except for a few minor parts, I even forgot at times that it was a book written for the teen crowd.  The plot was captivating and even believable.  The characters had heart.  And I found myself unable to put the book down, as I couldn’t help but wonder what would happen next.

Looking for an easy, yet exciting read?  Try this series.  I definitely can’t wait to pick up the next book.

And check out the trailer for the upcoming movie:  Hunger Games Trailer

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Book Review: Hunger Games

  1. I loved it and I can’t wait for the film!

  2. Sarah says:

    I’ll have to check out the series! Everyone’s loving these books right now. 😀

  3. Caitlyn says:

    For three days I was cooped up in my room reading this series! It is awesome! I have already made plans with my friend to see the movie, which comes out March 23rd…not that I’m counting down or anything 🙂

  4. jelillie says:

    Thanks Nicole this is actually on my “to be read list”. I now look forward to it!

  5. allieksmith says:

    I was skeptical when I first received the book for mandatory summer reading (for school), and then I could not put the book down! I can’t wait for the movie and I know you will love the other books!

  6. I absolutely loved this book! The whole series was great. I mean, sad at times, but really a page turner!

  7. B says:

    Thanks for this review! I’ve been toying with the idea of starting the series and I think I might give it a try now!

  8. I loved this series as well (kinda excited for the movie coming out soon – which I probably will cry through). This series was darker to me than other young adult series that I have read, but it was definitely enjoyable! 🙂

  9. SO so good. I read it in about 3 days right before Christmas (which is fast for me to read a book). I didn’t like Catching Fire or Mockingjay quite as much though, but they’re still worth the read.

    Also, I may have a minor crush on Peeta.

Leave a Reply

