When the Shoe Fits…it doesn’t always mean you should buy it

Last autumn, I had purchased an adorable pair of black boots on clearance.  They had the perfect little heal, and a stylish bow on one side.  So cute!

There was only one problem. They were loud.  Like really loud.

Like when I walk through a supermarket, people turn to glare at me, because my loud walking makes them cringe.  And think angry thoughts.  And maybe even consider throwing things… at me.

One woman even confronted me, exclaiming, “Oh my gosh, I can’t even hear myself think!”  Or something to that affect.  I don’t remember the entire conversation, because I was pretty much too horrified at the time.  (I did try to look around for someone else to blame, but I swear that everyone was wearing flip flops and slippers to the grocery store that day.  Some help those other shoppers were…).

So I learned how to practically tip-toe my way across pavement and tile.  It didn’t get rid of the problem completely, although I’m pretty sure that I no longer was as loud as an elephant wearing tap-shoes.

And then yesterday happened…

Apparently all this tip-toeing wore my shoes out the wrong way, because they now squeak when I walk across carpet.  It’s a loud squeaking, which brings back memories of walking through old bookstores.  Except my shoes are squeaking instead of aged wooden floor-boards, so the romance really isn’t there even if the sound is.

“I just don’t know what I’m going to do,” I moaned to Nate.  “I can’t walk without announcing to the world that I’m coming.”

Nate squinted his eyes, looking at me as though I had two heads.  “Hmmm, why don’t you just buy a new pair of shoes?”

Well… Because I just never thought of that, that’s why.

Happy Friday!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to When the Shoe Fits…it doesn’t always mean you should buy it

  1. jelillie says:

    He is a wise man 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    Haha!! And a shoe shoppin’ we must go. :mrgreen:

  3. Hehe he’s a wise one isn’t he?! Do it, treat yourself!

  4. That’s awesome! Nice excuse for a little shoe shopping therapy. 🙂

  5. sarahnsh says:

    I eat loud that everyone complains about it … but there’s not much I can do about that. Happy shoe shopping!

  6. Kelsey says:

    oooh.. or you could go shoe shopping AND fix the shoes you have by putting a thin layer of rubber on the bottom of your shoe to alleviate the loudness and squeaking!

  7. Haha! Nate is such a good husband! 😉

    And sorry about the awkward moment with the woman who confronted you. That’s awful. 😦 But on the bright side… new shoes! 😀

Leave a Reply

