He Thinks I’m Pretty… even on the not-so-pretty days

There are two types of people that go to the gym… 

Type A struts through the doors while wearing cute, hot-pink tank tops and skin-tight black pants.  Everything matches right down to their pink shoe-laces and water-bottles.

And then there are the Type B people…  Those who look as though they just rolled out of bed and shuffled to the gym.  You know, the people who wear sweat-pants one size too big and baggy t-shirts of any shade imaginable.

Just call me Miss Type B.

I do have plans on buying an official, workout outfit that actually matches as a birthday present to myself in June.  😉  (Because for the record, I don’t have anything against workout outfits that actually match).  But until I do splurge on actual fitness gear, I’m not exactly a pretty sight when I walk into the gym for a workout.

And it’s okay.  I’ve been running for years (although I’m just now getting back into it), and I’m used to being selfish when I run.  As in, I don’t care how bad I look.  I’m there for me.  Nothing more.  Nothing less.

If you’re frightened by my crazy hair, makeup-less face, and man-sized T, then please look the other away.  I’m here to get my heart pumping and to focus on my health.  I’m not here to win a beauty pageant.

But Friday, I happened to catch a glimpse of myself in the mirror after my run on the treadmill, and I determined that this was a particularly bad day.  My hair was in a crazy pony-tale, my face was red from the exertion, and — well — it was just that time of month that leaves me wanting chocolate, a good cry… and extra stretchy pants.  You know… That time.

I groaned.  Looked away.  And headed for the locker-room to grab my stuff.

Nate and I were walking to the car together when I mumbled, “I really need to buy a workout outfit.  I can’t wait for my birthday.”

“Why, what’s wrong with what you’re wearing?” Nate asked.

“Hmmm, hello!?!” I said, waving my hands at myself.  “I need some help here.”

“Really?” he said, looking puzzled but also quite sincere.  “I thought you looked so pretty.”

Okay, fine, he said that I had looked ‘hot’.  😉

I think my mouth dropped open in shock.

Even in my worst state, he still thinks I’m pretty.  He most certainly hadn’t noticed that my clothes weren’t very flattering or that my hair wasn’t done.  Or if he had noticed, he hadn’t cared.  He was just happy that we were there together, working out and getting back into shape.  He actually appreciated the fact that I wasn’t wearing makeup and that I was just  looking like… me.

He still saw beauty when I couldn’t.

And to that, I give this advise to any of you single gals…

Find someone who will love you for who you are… always.  Who can find the beauty in you, even when you can’t see it in yourself.  Don’t settle for the guy that wants you to lose that last five pounds or who wants you to do your makeup perfectly before you go out.

Find a guy who loves you for you.  Always!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to He Thinks I’m Pretty… even on the not-so-pretty days

  1. fivereflections says:

    this is really very good

  2. Aww bless him, he’s a good un!

  3. Sarah says:

    I’m a baggy shirt wearer too (except for yoga.) I could never understand how girls can wear tight tanks when running, as I just find it so uncomfortable to move around in.

    And Nate is such a good guy. 😀

  4. livvy30 says:

    So sweet and so true! I’m sitting on the sofa in pjs, having cleaned the bathrooms, spluttering with a chest infection, I haven’t slept properly for 4 days and I just got told that I’m still pretty! Those guys are the best 🙂

  5. Tracy's Treats says:

    This is so sweet, and very true!

  6. Dawn says:

    I am a type B person also. I do have a few type A moments though.

    You are very lucky to have a man who knows the right thing to say 🙂

  7. So true! Especially around THAT time of the month (oh, I have been there), or when I feel like the only Type B girl around a bunch of Type As. We are very lucky women 🙂

    P.S. My birthday is in June as well! 🙂

  8. allieksmith says:

    Awwww, I LOVE this post! Nate is so awesome!

  9. Haha! Nicole, this made me laugh because you seriously just described what I looked like at the gym today! I was definitely there in all my Type B glory. I don’t have an actual workout outfit, but I do have a couple of pieces that actually match and aren’t huge on me, haha! So it just depends on the day (often what I grab in the morning and stuff in my gym bag). 🙂 Anyway, I love that Nate loves on you so much. That is really precious! 🙂

  10. Amen! Great post. My husband is the same way. 20 minutes after a puking session on a long car ride (good old pregnancy gag reflex), he looks at me (while I’m feeling like the dead) and tells me how pretty I look. He’s serious. And I’m thinking, “You have GOT to be kidding!”

  11. So, so true.
    There are so many guys that can really make a girl feel self conscious about how they look. There is nothing wrong with wanting to look good for your man, but if you feel pressured by him to do it then it’s time to kick him to the curb.

    Nate is really a great guy.

  12. meg says:

    Awww… What a guy.

    I love my workout outfits, though sometimes I hope people don’t think I’m colorblind! I love buying new workout pieces it keeps me motivated!

  13. Absolutely, that is how it should be.

Leave a Reply

