Books, Kindles, and Fuzzy Cats

I’ve had a love affair with books for as long as I can remember.  For me, there’s nothing quite like opening the pages of a crisp, new novel.  The smell of paper and ink.  The words beckoning me to step into an exciting adventure just waiting to be experienced. 

It’s an obession really.  (Check out my previous blog post entitled Here a book, There a Book for the proof, if you haven’t read it yet).

But today…  Today I may have been a little unfaithful.

Meet the Kindle.

He’s my hubby’s late Christmas gift, and I have to say that I’m slightly in love.  I’ve always said that I could never be persuaded to join the dark side.  Ever.

But one look at this beauty and I couldn’t help but imagine how many books I could hold… at the SAME time.  And get this, it has wi-fi, so I could even read my favorite blogs on it.  Not to mention the fact that I could order a book and begin reading it in seconds.  Any book I wanted would be in my grasp!

(insert crazy, head-thrown-back laugh). 

Ahem.  Sorry.  Sorry about that.

I’m okay now.

So I apologize for the lack of blog post yesterday.  I planned on writing, but this fuzzy guy sat on my keyboard and changed a setting so that my screen flipped sidewise.  I have no idea how he did it or how Nate managed to fix it, but let’s just say that it’s not easy to check Pinterest when your screen is flipped 90 degrees to the left.

And this guy?  He doesn’t make it easy to put together a grocery list.

But for now, they do make our lives complete.  Just me, my hubby, two cats, nine crates of books, and a Kindle.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Books, Kindles, and Fuzzy Cats

  1. I just got a Kindle as an early birthday present! I am loving it. I even downloaded a book for free on Amazon and started reading it right away.

    Yeah, watch out for those cats. 😉

  2. I haven’t got one as like you I feel I want to stick to “real” books but I’m sure the time will come when I give in. Enjoy it!

  3. I got a kindle for Christmas. My cat has found out it is much harder to lay on my book when it is in kindle form haha

  4. I didn’t think I’d love my kindle, but I do. I really do.
    It’s especially awesome for travelling because you can pack your entire library with you.
    And it makes sharing books really easy. Sometimes I don’t want to share my actual books with people because I’m afraid I won’t get it back, but if I can just give them a copy of a file, it’s a win-win. (Speaking of which, I can send you some of my faves if you’re interested.)

  5. Sarah says:

    Nooo!! Don’t join the dark side. You’ll just end up persuading me that I really need one too…haha. 😀

  6. Catherine says:

    My in-laws surprised Derek and me with a Kindle last Christmas, and we have read the heck out of that thing! We have tons of books on there at all times, and I love it! Plus, it feels good to be a little more environmentally friendly. I don’t know about your town, but in DC the public library has books you can check out on your kindle for a few weeks at a time too! And you can download audiobooks to the Kindle as well! Basically, it’s a great investment. 😉

  7. B says:

    I love my Kindle but I still buy “real” books too. It is nice having all my books with me though, especially when flying or on vacation. No need to to pick and choose!

  8. Kristen says:

    I got the same Kindle model for Christmas last year! I was like you and didn’t think I would like it because I love good, old fashioned books. But it’s wonderful! I take it everywhere I go, and I end up reading a lot more. Happy reading!

  9. allieksmith says:

    Ahh the Kindle! I don’t have one, but I have the Nook app on my iPhone and I never thought I would like it (my boyfriend convinced me!) but I read on it the most.. more than regular books and I love that books are at my fingertips 24/7 … literally 😉

  10. I have this thing with being able to turn the pages. I don’t know what it is, but I just really like the way a book feels in my hands, you know? My mom has a Kindle and I played with it some, but it’s just not the same. However, for long trips – the Kindle is brilliant! No more carting a load of library books around on a trip! Glad you are having fun playing with it. 🙂

  11. justmarriedgirl says:

    I hate to say it, but I think the Kindle is pretty amazing. I’ll never stop loving books and bookstores (may they last forever!), but the Kindle is a pretty seductive little device. As a hopeful writer, I wonder how it will change the course of publishing in years to come. As long as people are still consuming lots of books, it’ll work for me!

  12. Sheila says:

    I have to say I was unsure about going away from the traditional feel of a book in my hand. I have had a Kindle for over a year now and I LOVE LOVE it.

  13. I haven’t quite moved over to the dark side yet.

    Although, my husband did get a Kindle Fire for Christmas….I’m sure it’s only a matter of time… 🙂

Leave a Reply

