White Walls are All I See

This past weekend was the two year anniversary of when Nate and I moved into our first, very own house.

Sadly, this means that in two years, I have not painted one wall nor hung up one picture.  Well, unless you count Christmas cards.  Do hanging up Christmas cards count? 

No?  Sigh, I didn’t think so either.

In my defense however (wow, I say that a lot on this blog), it took us awhile to save up for furniture and curtains so we’re just now really at the wall-decorating stage.  That and it takes me forever to make up my mind and decide what I want.

Sooooo, this is THE year of color and wall decor!

Which is why this past weekend, my sister and I took a trip to a nearby Christmas Tree Shop and Homegoods store.  You know, for inspiration and ideas.

And to take pictures of our winter boots in mirrors.

It was for inspiration purposes only, of course.

It’s amazing how inspired I felt, just walking through the rows filled with colorful gadgets and gizmos.   Inspired and motivated.

I totally take this home decorating seriously!

The funny thing is that I left the Christmas Tree Shop without mirrors, or vases, or pretty frames for my wall.  I left with peanut butter, as did my sister.

And I left the HomeGoods store with yet another cookbook, as apposed to paintings, or pitchers, or table runners.

Priorities, people.  It’s all about priorities.

But, yeah, I suppose it is time to add some color…  All these white walls are making me just a little crazy.

Do you know what you want, right from the beginning? Or does it take a ton of planning and browsing before you find the perfect items for your home decor?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to White Walls are All I See

  1. jelillie says:

    I like to browse sometimes but not usually in the paint section.

  2. Sarah says:

    I never realized this side of me before, but as I’m just now redecorating my room from top to bottom, I’m realizing that I’m very, *very* indecisive.

    (And not just in the frozen isle at the grocery store either.)

    But I think in the end, it will come out amazing. All this time planning and browsing just means that we’re getting what we REALLY want…at least that’s what I keep telling myself. 😉

  3. I painted my house before we moved in so I wouldn’t have to worry about moving furniture around. Plus we did a bit of renovations (and by ‘we’ I mean a contractor) so it needed painting anyway. I’ve painted the spare bedrooms though over the last 2 years because they were empty and I didn’t really see a need.
    I want to repaint my kitchen though because it turned out much bluer than I hoped it would (I wanted something more subtle) and I did a shitty job. Maybe this year I’ll do it.

  4. Hahaha! Oh Nicole, I love that you went looking for home decorating stuff and came home with peanut butter and a cookbook. That is so something I would do!

    As for our house… well, it was in such rough condition when we bought it that all the walls had to be painted before we could even move in (along with a very very long list of other things, haha). However, there are still on-going projects pretty much all the time. Especially when it comes to the upstairs that we seldom use (only when people come to visit). 🙂 So yeah, no shame in decorating bit by bit!

  5. Caitlyn says:

    I am the absolute worst at making a decision! Whether I’m choosing shoes or what to have for lunch, it takes a very long time and I usually have to consult someone for advice. I think it’s the perfectionist side of me wanting everything to be just right. It gets frustrating sometimes (all the time) because I want it done now, but I’m stuck with a million decision in the meantime. I did, however, choose my bedroom wall color in one week! Now that, I am proud of!

  6. I do a lot of looking through magazines and getting the idea cards at the big box stores. Those cards have three different colors and show how colors mix together. I am using one of those for my kitchen in a slightly different combination. This spring I am going for a terra cotta color in my living room.

  7. meg says:

    Oh my gosh, if it weren’t for the fact our walls were already painted tan and my friend who is an amazing house decorator, I’d be in your shoes too. Seriously, those decorating tv shows make it look so easy when it’s actually mind boggling! Picking out paint is kind of a huge pain in the butt. It always looks different than in the store! The end result is always worth it. I wish you the best of luck!

  8. Peanut Butter!? I didn’t even know they carried that at home goods stores! It’s so funny because me and Jason don’t even have the house yet but we are already planning decor and the colors we’ll use. We’re hoping to give our notice here with a month to move in and do all the painting before the furniture is in! We’ll see how it works out. I can’t wait to see what you decide for your house. 🙂

  9. HomeGoods says:

    Let us know what sort of tasty meals you whip up with that cookbook!

  10. I definitely have a hard time with the paint, just because I usually lean towards greens but I already have enough of that in my house. When it came to actually decorating, I watched a lot of HGTV’s decorating shows and kind of learned my taste that way. The decorating part is easy. My rule is simply: make sure I love anything I purchase. That way, if it doesn’t work in the area you had planned for it, you can just use it somewhere else in your home. One thing I didn’t have when we first got our house was Pinterest. That could be all you need!

Leave a Reply

