Fitness Friday: Pulling Myself Up

Over one of our upstairs doorways, there is a metal bar, which resembles something like a torture device.  In reality, it’s a piece of exercise equipment, designed to help fitness-seekers practice pull-ups.

And it mocks me on a daily basis…

I have to admit that I’ve always wanted to have the upper-body strength to be able to pull myself up on that bar.  I’d even settle for once to start.  But right now, it’s all I can do to just hang there and carry my weight.  And using just arm strength to carry my entire body-weight is a lot tougher than I thought it would be.  In fact, it kind of makes me appreciate my legs more.

Which brings me to another point… You know those action-movie scenes where the guy hangs from the bottom of a helicopter and is flown to some safer spot where there isn’t machine gun fire and explosions?  So not as easy as it looks.  Not that I’ve hung from a helicopter, but I’m not having an easy time hanging from my doorway.  Sooooo, yeah, I’m pretty sure that if you threw a helicopter and heights into the mix, I’d take my chances with falling into the ocean.

I did notice this morning that I was able to lift myself up a little.  Just a bit.  Just enough to let me know that a pull-up is not out of the question.  It’s just something that I have to work towards.

So you read it here first, folks. I’m going to start practicing and working my way up to completing my first pull-up, at which point I’ll hopefully find the strength to do a couple.

The only question is, how long will it take me to get there?

Have you ever completed a pull-up?  How about hung from a helicopter while it was flying?  (Tom Cruise, this is your chance to brag here).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Fitness Friday: Pulling Myself Up

  1. kimberbro says:

    The only way I can do a pull-up with out a handsome personal trainer’s assistance is to jump. Yup, it may not be the “proper” way to do a pull-up, but being that I don’t have a handsome personal trainer (I don’t have an ugly personal trainer either) it’s the only way I can do 1, yes only 1 pull-up!

  2. Sarah says:

    I would love to be able to complete a pull-up!

    It was a big thing for me, when I was first able to complete a full-on push-up and now I’m able to do 10, which I’m ecstatic about! My arm strength has seen drastic improvements over the years but I still want to keep progressing (no more string bean arms for me! haha!) Maybe I’ll take on the challenge of being able to do a push-up too! Although I have a feeling that there will be more dangling than pulling. 😉

  3. The last time I think I attempted a pull up was in gymnastics when I was little, and I never did actually pull myself up. My upper body strength is probably the weakest part of my body (but my legs have quite a kick to them 🙂 )

  4. You can make it a bit easier by using a narrower underhand grip (if you aren’t already) or if the bar has the option for a parallel grip (palms facing) that’s easy too.
    It took me FOREVER to be able to do one pull-up. I’ve since lost the ability but I have a goal of doing it again this year (x5!). It helps to strengthen your lats and biceps with other exercises as well– assisted pull-ups, pull downs, hammer curls etc.

  5. Catherine says:

    Good goal! I discovered what a wimp I was one day when I couldn’t do two pushups in a row. I decided that should change, so every morning I woke up and tried to do just one or two more than the day before (this was also a few weeks before my wedding, so I had some extra motivation haha). Within a couple of months, my arms were nice and toned and I could do 24 in a row! I’ve since fallen off the wagon, but it’s nice to know that with a little motivation, exercise is possible! 😉

  6. sarahnsh says:

    Yeah, I don’t do pull-ups… too much weight for me to pull up. I use my arms consistently though with my job, so I’m sure they are strong, I just can’t see myself doing a pull-up though. I think it’s a great goal and I’m sure you can do it!

  7. I love watching my daughter swing around on the monkey bars. Wish I had that arm strength.

  8. I always think to myself “oooh I’m getting so strong at the gym I could totally do 1 pull-up!” And then I go to the bar and try for about 5 min. to pull even the tiniest bit of me up with absolutely no results ha ha ha! 🙂 I think you will be my new hero when you accomplish this Nicole!

  9. Oh my goodness, I love that you bring up the hanging-from-a-helicopter thing!! No joke, that is Christopher’s #1 reason for doing pull ups! He is concerned about being tossed out of a helicopter some day and he wants to know that he has a fighting chance to pull himself back up, haha!

Leave a Reply

