A Mother’s Patient Love

When I was small, living at home with my two siblings, my parents instilled in us a strong faith in God, unshakeable morals, and an insatiable love for icecream.  In other words, there was always a half gallon of icecream in the freezer, Bible studies before school, and prayers before bed.

As we were typical children when it came to mischief, however, prayers before bed could not take place without a very strict rule.

We were not to pray AT each other.

This rule came to be after my mom noticed that our prayers were becoming attempts at showing the other sibling what needed to change in their lives.  There we would be, dressed in fuzzy pajamas and kneeling in front of our beds, hands folded carefully and looking all cute and innocent.

Then the prayers started…

God, please help **** to stop being so bossy. 

God, please help *** to know that they’re annoying when they eat so loud. 

God, please help *** to stop smelling so much.

The no praying at each other rule definitely worked after a few reprimands… and maybe a reminder or two that God was more interested in how we were going to be better children.  And it was certainly a testimony to my mom’s patience.  (Some mothers would have quit and decided to leave prayer for church)  But instead, she kept right at it, teaching us how to earnestly pray and to make our faith more of a relationship with God than a religion.

In other words, my mom was a bit of a saint.

I thought about all this the other day while I was playing piano at church.  My mind ran back to the good ol’ days of kneeling by my bed, a little brother and sister kneeling on either side of me, and a mother kneeling right there with us.

And I realized that she did good.   She did real good.  And someday, I hope I can be half as good of a mother as she was to us.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Mother’s Patient Love

  1. jelillie says:

    An awesome testimony to an enduring faith!

  2. Catherine says:

    That was a sweet tribute to your mom. By my age, my mom had already had me and my sister, which definitely changes my perception of how I grew up. It’s so weird to think that my earliest memories of my mom and dad was when they were the same age I am now! Crazy!

  3. That is really sweet about your mom. I love seeing how our faith, though it is our own, is shaped by our parents.

  4. Sarah says:

    So many beautiful memories.

    And I love that picture of the three of us. It’s pretty much “us” in a nutshell. 😀

  5. Absolutely love this. And as silly as it sounds that you guys “prayed at” each other as children, I have absolutely seen adults do that as well. Especially with girl fights. I’ve heard women pray that other women will “quit ___fill-in-the-blank___ and start being a better person.” So I love that your mom instilled in you guys at such a young age that God was more interested in your personal growth than your desire to change a sibling. 🙂 She sounds like a great lady!

  6. I love this post! As a mom I’m constantly thinking back to the times I loved best with my mom. I’m trying to recreate that for Alannah as much as I can! I think it’s very important in the process of parenting to constantly be looking to things that inspired you, or helped you grow in life and try your best to instill those same things in your children! 🙂

Leave a Reply

