Mean Girls All Grown Up

It all started when Girl A called me at work to vent about Girl C, telling me about how irritating, incompetent, and freakishly annoying this girl is.  The only problem is that I get along just fine with Girl C. We’re not friends by any means, but we have a professional relationship and I happen to think she’s a very pleasant, hard-working person.  (I also find her sarcastic humor to be quite hilarious).

Soooo, I cut the conversation with Girl A a bit short.  I did my best to be polite about it, but I definitely made it obvious that I was not going to be a part of this conversation.  Talking about people around the office behind their backs is something I try not to do under any circumstance. (Besides, I’m a firm believer in the following:  Those who gossip to you, will gossip about you).

Girl A then called Girl B to tell her about how she doesn’t like working with me very much.  I mean, I’m a hard worker and all.  But I’m just not working at gelling with her and her department.

I know this because Girl B then called me on the phone to tell me what Girl A had told her.   And she also informed me that there is an office alliance, and she understands that I’m new to the group so I didn’t know.  But just for the record, we don’t like Girl C.

I honestly at this point kind of wanted to laugh.  Are we still in highschool?  Does the prettiest and most popular determine who is and isn’t worth talking to?  Are we really forming office clicks?

Before I really thought it over, I found myself saying something along the lines of, “I’m new to the group so I do like Girl C.  She and I don’t have any history, and I’m not going to just not like her because you don’t.  She and I actually get along really well.”

She didn’t know what to say to that.  In fact, I think she found me to be irritating, incompetent, and freakishly annoying because she hung up the phone quite abruptly.

I’m sure there will be a few people at work today who will be spreading the rumor mill about Girl D… that is, me.  But I really, honestly, couldn’t care less.  When you separate yourself emotionally from such situations, you see it for what it is.

It’s all about insecurity.  About mean girls growing up but not maturing enough to learn how to be nice.  And it’s also a tad bit hilarious.

So, yeah, just call me Girl D…  🙂  I’m proud of the label it gives me.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mean Girls All Grown Up

  1. Wow, you really handled it well. I can’t believe some were just outright blatant about it. I know I’ve done my share of gossip in the past, both listened to and contributed, but well…I explain it in my next Sunday entry. 🙂 Great post!

  2. Good for you!! Gossiping serves no purpose other than to cause drama in the office. Some people, it seems, absolutely THRIVE on drama.

    Anyways. Mean girls live on. But so do no-nonsense, let’s-be-real kind of girls. Thank God for that. 😀

  3. Oh. My. Word. I know what you mean. And I agree 110% that those who gossip to you will most definitely gossip about you. I was really shocked to face gossip in the adult world. I remember being really surprised by gossip in college as well. I’m not sure why I thought it was only confined to high school, but as it turns out – there are mean girls at every age. I’m not a parent yet, but I’ve heard that it gets even more vicious once you have children at the same age and everything is suddenly a competition. Yuck. Anyway, congrats on your proud title of Girl D – I’m so glad that you stood up for what you believed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

