A Trip to Ikea

This past weekend, my friends Stephanie, Liz, Alannah (Liz’s little girl), and I took a trip out to Ikea for some SHOPPING and home decorating ideas.

If you’ve never been to Ikea, then you need to go.  Right now.  Don’t walk, run!

The possibilities are endless there, from adorable light fixtures to whimsical mirrors to bright garden supplies.  (And, no, I was not paid by Ikea to say that. Although if they would like to pay me, I wouldn’t argue).  😉

The store was an endless playground, and had we not been so busy chattering about how excited we were, I’m pretty sure that we would have been speechless.

But the great thing about Ikea is that the atmosphere is pretty relaxed, allowing you to stare in wonder at every kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom display.

Liz and I almost forgot where we were and decided to make ourselves at home!  (Sadly, there was no food in the fridge, but I suppose you can’t have everything).

Stephanie, meanwhile, whipped up a scarf in the sewing room….

… and Alannah served tea.

Speaking of Alannah, I think she discovered the cutest bed known to mankind childkind.  It was a small bunkbed, with its own little fort underneath.

You could even buy a little leaf to put over it, if you wanted.  (I totally fell in love with that leaf, but I don’t think my husband would have been as excited about it as I was. You know, seeing as how we don’t have kids yet, and the green wouldn’t exactly match the decor in our room).

I did end up finding a really nice set of dishes, that I just might have to go back to buy sometime soon.  🙂

And I did buy one these planters for my kitchen, so that I can begin growing herbs.

So many ideas!

Such a great day spent with friends!

I hope that we can do it again sometime soon… even if at the end of the day, we did all feel like this.  🙂

Have you ever shopped at Ikea?  Where’s your favorite place to go for home decorating supplies?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Trip to Ikea

  1. We have an IKEA about 20 mins from our house. We don’t go as often as we would like to, but when we do, I love walking through the little apartment spaces they have set up for ideas (and of course the marketplace at the end, I love that planter you found!).
    We love to go to Hobby Lobby for a lot of our decor, sometimes even Walmart or Target if we find the right thing for the right price. Your trip may inspire us to another visit to IKEA very soon! Great post!

  2. Sarah says:

    I love Ikea! I need to go back once there’s more money in my spending account…haha. So many possibilities! 😀

  3. Mac says:

    I don’t go to Iowa very much because it is just deadly for me! I either leave broke or completely envious.

  4. I totally hate IKEA. There’s always a million people there, the stuff they sell is mostly crap that lasts about five seconds, and the layout of the whole store makes me feel like cattle being herded to slaughter. Add that to the fact that the workers aren’t very pleasant and you have to go fetch your own furniture from the warehouse (and then build it too!) and I am not a happy camper.

    I’ve been there a few times and bought things from their and I think they have lots of inspiration for homes, but I loathe going.

  5. Alaina says:

    My husband and I were just at Ikea yesterday and I love going there for their marketplace items and their design ideas. 🙂

  6. Stephanie says:

    Reblogged this on Just another page in my story… and commented:
    Shop til you drop!

Leave a Reply

