Veggie-full Wednesdays: Snobby Joe’s

As much as I loved the ring to Meatless Mondays, I’m fully aware of one very important fact: I always forget to make my vegetarian meals on Mondays.

Oops!

So as I’ve been making my vegetarian meals on Wednesdays instead, I came up with Veggie-full Wednesdays.  (And, yes, I am fully aware of the fact that ‘Veggie-full’ is not a real word.  Not yet anyway.  But still, I like it and so it stays).  😉

My first vegetarian meal was a recipe provided by my healthy, veggie-loving sister Sarah (author of The Flying Onion).  Snobby Joe’s are a vegetarian twist on Sloppy Joe’s and substitute lentils for the meat.

Lentils.  I didn’t even know what they were not so long ago.  Apparently, they really  aren’t so scary.  They look like your typical dried bean and are found with the dried peas and black beans in your local supermarket.

Who knew.

Anyway, if you’ve never made a vegetarian meal or are just testing the waters — like I am — I highly recommend this recipe.  It’s easy to make and bursting with flavor.  Plus, it would be easy to add your own personal touch, based on your personal tastes.  Substitute the hamburger roll for a baked sweet potato.  Top with a bit of shredded cheese or some pickles.

It’s all up to you.

And I’m happy to announce that my meat-loving husband approved of the meal as well.  🙂  SCORE!

The recipe also freezes well, so make a double batch and freeze single-serving portions for a quick lunch to bring to work!  (You all know how I usually hate my lunches.  This is one lunch option that I’ll actually be excited about).

Recipe rating:  Nate and I gave the recipe a three out of five stars, which means we really enjoyed it and will be making it again.

Snobby Joes

  • 1 c. uncooked lentils
  • 4 c. water
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 T. chile powder
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 (8-oz.) can tomato sauce
  • 1/4 c. tomato paste
  • 2 T. maple syrup
  • 1 T. yellow mustard
  • Hamburger buns (preferably whole wheat)
  1. Pour lentils and water into small saucepan; bring to a boil, then lower heat and simmer for 20 – 30 minutes, or until tender.  Drain and set aside.
  2. Preheat a medium sized saucepan over medium heat and saute the onion, garlic and pepper for about 7 minutes in 1 T. oil, until softened.
  3. Stir in cooked lentils, chile powder, oregano, salt, tomato sauce, tomato past, maple syrup and mustard.  Heat thorough.
  4.   Serve on top of hamburger buns that have been toasted in the broiler.

Enjoy!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Veggie-full Wednesdays: Snobby Joe’s

  1. Sarah says:

    Oooh! On top of a sweet potato? I like the sound of that!

    (Guess what I found at whole foods the other day? PURPLE sweet potatoes! No lie. I’m pretty excited. 😀 )

  2. allieksmith says:

    I just had sloppy joes with a sweet potato the other day.. too weird!!! Food twins?!

  3. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am going to try this one this week! 🙂 I am in dire need of some simple vegetarian recipes like this, I am forever grateful! (Sound desperate? It’s been a rough week of eating lol!)

  4. Pingback: Here we go! « Girl Meets Veggies

  5. Pingback: Let’s begin! « Girl Meets Veggies

  6. Pingback: I love waffles! « Girl Meets Veggies

Leave a Reply

