Camping Plans

So I will be jumping over to my new blog on Memorial Day weekend, and I must say that I am quite excited.   Loving Simple Momentshas served me well, but I’m looking forward to a fresh start and some fun new additions (including video, if all goes well).

(Yes, I’m quite aware of the fact that I look half-asleep in that picture.  But I can’t get over how adorable those tulips are, so I liked the pic anyway).

I’m also CRAZY excited that I’ll be taking pictures with a brand-new camera!!  🙂  It’s a birthday present from my husband, even though my special day isn’t until June. Long story short, I was complaining so much about my current camera that he was convinced I was just going to buy one…. when he already had bought one for me.  So he scolded me a bit for forcing his hand… and then gave me the gift early.  😉  It is AMAZING, and I cannot wait to learn about all of its features.

AND the new blog will be just in time for my upcoming camping trip in June, which I will — obviously — need to document in great detail.  Because I’m going camping in a tent.  Yeah, no-TV-or electricity-or-mattresses camping.

The real deal.  The I-need-to-walk-a-mile-to-use-the-bathroom-or-shower kind of experience.

I actually grew up camping with my family, so I’m not inexperienced when it comes to putting up a tent, using a camp-stove, starting a campfire…  or hiding in a sleeping bag when there are strange noises crunching in the leaves outside the tent.  But it’s been awhile since I’ve done it.  As in six years, at least.  As in, I’ve gotten used to sleeping in hotels with running water, beds, air conditioning, and walls.

Nate first suggested it several weeks ago when we realized that our Hawaii trip planned for early next year was sucking all of this year’s vacation money.  It looked like we might not be able to go away this year, except for our trip to the cabin in the fall.

But the thing about camping is that it’s cheap.  About $20 a night cheap.  That and the fact that Nate has been begging me for years to go camping with him.  So we booked a campsite, and that was that.

A camping we will go!  🙂

Have you ever gone tent camping?  Do you like it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Camping Plans

  1. The pictures are awesome! I’m already in love with your new camera (I’m sure you are too!) Now you can finally enjoy your love for photography again. Having the right “tool” is everything. 😀

    (p.s. I also love how you enlarged all the pictures…I’m completely excited for your new blog!)

  2. livvy30 says:

    Mmmm. I have mixed feelings about camping. I didn’t grow up with camping trips. I’ve been camping once, at a festival, in the rain….not a fan! I can see how if you live somewhere with nice weather it’s a fun thing to do. Here, definitely not! 🙂 Looking forward to the new blog.

  3. allieksmith says:

    Ahh, love camping! You are going to have so much fun 🙂 I can’t wait for your new blog too! I love the tulip picture.

  4. Katrina says:

    Wahoo! new blog! I love camping but we will be staying in hotels/B&Bs when we go to Colorado in June. He wants to plan to do more camping next year. He’s actually talking about it right now while he’s grilling 🙂 Congratulations on the camera and enjoy taking snapshots of life. 🙂

  5. I’ve never been camping—I consider myself low maintenance, but I’m still afraid of legit, no plumbing, camping! Enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

